#UTTylerTF wins four events on final day at ASC Championship

Saturday, April 22, 2017

ABILENE – UT Tyler’s Tristin Salem, Whitney Simmons, Victoria Nix and Will McIlroy won American Southwest Conference Track & Field Championship titles on Saturday at the Hardin-Simmons Complex.


The UT Tyler men’s track & field team took second in the meet, while the women’s team took third at the conference meet. The McMurry men won the title with 283.50 points and its women’s team won with 224 points. The Patriot men were second overall with 121.50 points and the women took third with 120.5 points which was just behind Hardin-Simmons which finished second with a total of 122. UT Tyler finished with nine individual championships at the two-day event.

McIlroy won the 5,000 meters 16:28.02 to win the ASC title in his freshman season, while his teammate Quinton Bryson finished fourth with a time of 16:50. Simmons won her second title of the weekend by defending her ASC discus championship. Simmons won the hammer throw on Friday and then had a mark of 38.48 meters in the discus on Saturday to win the second title. Emma Snyder finished fourth in the event for the Patriots with a mark of 32.22. Salem ran a 2:31.28 to win the 800-meters with Rachel Hamilton finishing second at 2:34.29 for Sul Ross.

Victoria Nix cleared 11-feet to tie for the ASC Championship with Myra Carrion who was credited with the event win for Hardin-Simmons on a tiebreak. 

UT Tyler sophomore Zach Richardson finished second in the 400-meter dash by running a 49.02 which was just behind McMurry’s Michael Brown who ran a 48.91 to win the event. Ricky Hall was sixth in the 100-meter dash after running an 11.25 and Richardson was eighth in the 200 with a time of 27.32. Rachel Willis finished third in the women’s 1,500 meters with a time of 5:20 after finishing third in the 10,000 meters on Friday.

Matthew Roe finished second in the men’s discus 31.77 meters after winning the hammer throw on Friday, while Logan Houser was third in the 800 by running a 2:00.13 in the event. Shafen Borah ran a 4:19.74 for third in the 1,500 meters with Quinton Bryson fifth in the race in a time of 4:25.

Event Champions 


100                                  McKaila Shelfer, McMurry
200                                  McKaila Shelfer, McMurry
400                                  Karley Harris, Sul Ross State
800                                  Tristin Salem, UT-Tyler
3000 Steeplechase           Michaela Heys, UT-Tyler 
1,500                              Sydney Tencate, Hardin-Simmons 
5,000                              Sydney Tencate, Hardin-Simmons 
10,000                            Sydney Tencate, Hardin-Simmons 
100 Hurdles                Shantel Thomas, McMurry 
400 Hurdles                Shantel Thomas, McMurry
4x100                             Shantel Thomas, Alize Tarver, Brookelyn Malone, McKaila Shelfer, McMurry
4x400                             Shantel Thomas, Sham Hunter, Kirsten DeFrance, McKaila Shelfer, McMurry
High Jump                    Abigail Lally, McMurry
Triple Jump                 Shantel Thomas, McMurry
Long Jump                   Shantel Thomas, McMurry
Hammer Throw        Whitney Simmons, UT-Tyler
Discus Throw             Whitney Simmons, UT-Tyler
Javelin Throw            Alex McIntosh, McMurry
Shot Put                        Audrey Lozano, Sul Ross State
Pole Vault                     Myra Carrion, Hardin-Simmons 


Others named All-ASC With 14 Points 

Courtney Smith, UTT
Britney Beaver, McMurry 
Rachel Willis, UTT
Rhea Harris, HSU 
Molli Howard, HSU 


Men’s Event Champions 

110 Hurdles                            Chase Soka, ETBU

400 Hurdles                            Hasanai Chanriang, Hardin-Simmons

100                                              Jermaine Stevens, Sul Ross State

200                                              Michael Brown, McMurry 

400                                              Michael Brown, McMurry 

800                                              Keon Mays, McMurry

1,500                                          Michael Benoit, McMurry 

3000 Steeplechase               Quinton Bryson, UT-Tyler

5,000                                          Will McIlroy, UT-Tyler

10,000                                        Michael Benoit, McMurry

4x100                                         Jermaine Stevens, James Davis, Byron Jones, Richard Snyder, SRSU

4x400                                         Keon Mays, Michael Williams, Tanner Wright, Michael Brown 

High Jump                                James Willingham, Louisiana College

Triple Jump                             James Willingham, Louisiana College

Long Jump                               Jermaine Stevens, Sul Ross State

Hammer Throw                     Matthew Roe, UT-Tyler

Javelin Throw                        Matthew Godwin, UT-Tyler

Discus Throw                         Krystofer Campos, McMurry

Shot Put                                    Thomas Reynolds, East Texas Baptist 

Pole Vault                                 Zackary Biles, East Texas Baptist 


Other All-ASC Performers

Kaelon McLemore, Hardin-Simmons 

Shafen Borah, UT-Tyler 

Raul Villalpando, Concordia

Tylynne Eaton, McMurry 

Joseph Parker, ETBU