@patriotstennis women selected to win ASC East

Monday, January 23, 2017
by ascsports.org

RICHARDSON – UT Tyler and UT Dallas have been picked to win the 2017 American Southwest Conference women’s tennis East and West Division titles after a vote of the league's head coaches announced by the conference office Monday.

UT Tyler received 65 points and 10 first-place votes to secure the top spot in the East Division. UT Dallas collected 84 points and 10 first-place votes to lead the West Division.
East Texas Baptist was picked second in the East Division with 50 points and three first-place votes. LeTourneaucame in third (38), Univ. of Ozarks fourth (26) and Louisiana College fifth (15).
In the West Division, Hardin-Simmons received 75 points and two first-place votes to rank second. McMurry had 48 points for third and edged Concordia Texas with 47 points and one first-place vote. Mary Hardin-Baylor was picked fifth (46), Sul Ross State came in sixth (33) and Howard Payne seventh (27).
In addition to the preseason poll, 26 players were named to the ASC Women’s Tennis Preseason Watch List by the head coaches. Among the players returning for the new season are two all-conference selections, including UT Tyler senior Tori Musngi and UT Dallas junior Sumvruta Iyengar.
Musngi received first team East Division honors at No. 2 singles after recording a 13-7 overall record with a 2-0 mark in ASC play. Musngi was also named second team at No. 1 doubles with an 18-7 record on the year and 3-1 in conference play.
Iyengar was a first team West Division selection in doubles and earned second team divisional honors in singles. Iyengar was the Comets' top player in singles as a freshman, posting a 4-1 single mark at No. 1.
The women’s tennis season will begin Saturday, January 28 as East Texas Baptist travels to Abilene for a double-header match against ASC rivals Hardin-Simmons and McMurry.
2017 ASC Women’s Tennis Preseason Poll
East Division

Rank Team (1st place votes) Pts. 2016 Record (ASC)
1. UT Tyler (10) 65 21-4 (4-0)
2. East Texas Baptist (3) 50 14-5 (3-1)
3. LeTourneau 38 5-13 (1-3)
4. Univ. of Ozarks 26 4-12 (2-2)
5. Louisiana College 15 2-13 (0-4)
  Belhaven   16-8

# Ineligible for 2017 ASC Championship/NCAA Tournament (Div. III Provisional)
West Division

Rank Team (1st place votes) Pts. 2016 Record (ASC)
1. UT Dallas (10) 84 6-9 (4-1)
2. Hardin-Simmons (2) 75 13-6 (5-0)
3. McMurry% 48 10-12
4. Concordia Texas (1) 47 1-12 (0-5)
5. Mary Hardin-Baylor 46 4-11 (3-2)
6. Sul Ross State 33 4-14 (2-3)
7. Howard Payne 27 5-11 (1-4)

% Ineligible for 2017 ASC Championship/NCAA Tournament (Div. III Reclassifying)
2017 ASC Women’s Tennis Preseason Players to Watch
Players selected by their respective head coach

Name Cl. School
Ivanna Echezuria Sr. Belhaven
Natalia Lopez Sr. Belhaven
Justus Aarhus Fr. Concordia Texas
Leyla Martinez So. Concordia Texas
Kate Bramlett* E Jr. East Texas Baptist
Tiffany Stankiewicz E So. East Texas Baptist
Jasmine Briant* W Sr. Hardin-Simmons
Kyra Mobley Fr. Hardin-Simmons
Alex Marlin Sr. Howard Payne
Erin McCleer So. Howard Payne
Hayley Hunter Jr. LeTourneau
Lauren Rockwell So. LeTourneau
Angel Girod Sr. Louisiana College
Maryca Watts Jr. Louisiana College
Grace Igarta Fr. Mary Hardin-Baylor
Ashley Montgomery So. Mary Hardin-Baylor
Bree Brosig Sr. McMurry
Chloe Patterson Sr. McMurry
Imani Doyle So. Univ. of Ozarks
Karlee Hart Fr. Univ. of Ozarks
Alexa Gallardo Jr. Sul Ross State
Annette Posada So. Sul Ross State
Sumvruta Iyengar W Jr. UT Dallas
Kathy Joseph Fr. UT Dallas
Alexis Arrieta Jr. UT Tyler
Tori Musngi E Sr. UT Tyler

2016 All-Conference*
2016 East Division E
2016 West Division W