@tylerpatriots10s earns ITA Academic honors

Friday, July 22, 2016
by Wes Bloomquist | wbloomquist@uttyler.edu

TYLER – The University of Texas at Tyler tennis programs have earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Team honors and 17 Scholar-Athlete individual selections for their academic and athletic performances in the 2016 season.

On the men’s side, the ITA recognized Arthur Fagundes, Frankie Fischer, Joey Fischer, Alex Free, Pablo Gomez, Cameron McCarthy, Alfonso Medina and Jacob Van Der Schans represented the Patriots while excellence was spotlighted on the women’s team by Shelby Hart, Kaitlyn Huskey, Victoria Kniffen, Lauren Kuhn, Alexandra McKissick, Tijana Neskovic, Savannah Seely and Janae Warren.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above on a 4.00 scale. All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year including fall 2015 and spring 2016.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters, including freshman through senior year.

Both UT Tyler tennis programs won the 2016 American Southwest Conference Championships and advanced to the NCAA Division III postseason.