@patriotstennis picked to win ASC Women's East Division

Monday, January 25, 2016

RICHARDSON – UT Tyler is picked to win the 2016 American Southwest Conference women’s tennis East Division title after a vote of the league's head coaches, while Tori Musngi and Mary Alice Blacketer are spotlighted in the ASC Preseason Players to Watch list which were released on Monday.

The Patriots received 53 points and nine first-place votes to secure the top spot in the East Division, Hardin-Simmons received 63 points and eight first-place votes in the West Division.

Musngi was named the East Division Player of the Year after recording a 14-7 mark in No. 1 and 2 singles with a 4-0 showing against division teams. She teamed with three different partners in doubles play and went undefeated at 4-0 recording wins in all three doubles flights. Musngi helped lead the Patriots to an undefeated season in division play (4-0) and capture their second consecutive ASC Championship.

“What I like about both of our teams is that they work extremely hard and they want to win and play for each other,” UT Tyler head coach Chris Bizot said. “That’s really exciting to see. They’ve been very intentional about staying focused during practices along with strength and conditioning to be prepared for the season. It will be an interesting year with several seniors as the anchors of our teams and also several freshmen and newcomers who will make an immediate impact for our teams. Mixing things together and making it work is a challenge that we are looking forward to. If we are able to put it all together then our goals of winning conference and advancing deep into the NCAA tournament will happen but it is going to be a process.”

Bizot, the 2015 ASC East Division Coach of the Year, returns five players from a squad that won the ASC Championship with an unblemished 4-0 record in conference play and competed in the NCAA Division III Championship Regionals.

East Texas Baptist was picked second in the East Division with 46 points and two first-place votes. LeTourneau came in third (31), Ozarks fourth (24) and Louisiana College fifth (11). In the West Division, Texas Dallas received 55 points and three first-place votes to place second. Mary Hardin-Baylor was picked third (44), Sul Ross State fourth (26), Howard Payne fifth (24) and Concordia Texas makes its debut in the polls at sixth (19).

UT Tyler will open its season on Sunday by hosting Hardin-Simmons at 10 a.m. and McMurry at 3:30 p.m. at the Summers Tennis Center. The Patriots will host matches on seven different days throughout the spring season, including East Division matches against Louisiana College and LeTourneau on Friday, March 4 and Ozarks on April 9. The ASC Championship Tournament will be hosted this year from April 28-30 at the East Division Champion’s home courts.

2016 ASC Women's Tennis Preseason Poll
East Division

Rank Team (1st place votes) Points 2015 Record
1. Texas-Tyler 53 (9) 4-0 / 16-8
2. East Texas Baptist 46 (2) 3-1 / 4-9
3. LeTourneau 31 2-2 / 3-12
4. Ozarks 24 1-3 / 1-9
5. Louisiana College 11 0-4 / 0-12
  Belhaven#   16-7

# Ineligible for 2016 ASC Championship/NCAA Tournament (NCAA Div. III Reclassifying/Provisional Member)
West Division

Rank Team (1st place votes) Points 2015 Record
1. Hardin-Simmons 63 (8) 4-0 / 10-8
2. Texas Dallas 55 (3) 3-1 / 5-8
3. Mary Hardin-Baylor 44 2-2 / 8-9
4. Sul Ross State 26 0-4 / 1-14
5. Howard Payne 24 1-3 / 3-13
6. Concordia Texas 19 N/A
  McMurry%   16-5

% Ineligible for 2016 ASC Championship/NCAA Tournament (NCAA Div. III Reclassifying)
2016 ASC Women's Tennis Preseason Players to Watch
Players selected by their respective head coach

Name Cl. School
Anne Marie Kimball Fr. Belhaven
Natalia Lopez Jr. Belhaven
Leyla Martinez Fr. Concordia Texas
Alexis Popovich Fr. Concordia Texas
Kayla Casey Sr. East Texas Baptist
Kate Bramlett So. East Texas Baptist
Shayne Cook Jr. Hardin-Simmons
Hannah Smith Jr. Hardin-Simmons
Alex Marlin Jr. Howard Payne
Brittony Walker Jr. Howard Payne
Rachel Morisseau So. LeTourneau
Angel Girod So. Louisiana College
Isabella Santa-Maria So. Louisiana College
Elizabeth Ostroff Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor
Sarah Sedory Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor
Chloe Patterson Jr. McMurry
Bree Brosig Jr. McMurry
Imani Doyle Fr. Ozarks
Kayla Tucker Fr. Ozarks
Alexa Gallardo So. Sul Ross State
Hannah Schulz Jr. Sul Ross State
Sumvruta Iyengar Fr. Texas Dallas
Auvi Tran Sr. Texas Dallas
Mary Alice Blacketer Sr. Texas-Tyler
Tori Musngi Jr. Texas-Tyler

*2015 All-Conference