#uttylerwtennis Named a 14-15 ITA All-Academic Team

Friday, July 17, 2015

TYLER -- The UT Tyler Womens' Tennis team has been named as an Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic team for the 2014-2015 season, the organization announced today.

Eight student-athletes from the women's team were named ITA Scholar Athletes, including Stephanie Castellanos, Amy Friesenhahn, Emily Hoover, Madison Milner, Tori Musngi, Tijana Neskovic, Jennifer Payne and Janae Warren.

The ITA All-Academic Team Award is awarded to teams with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher, while the Scholar-Athlete Award is given to student-athletes who letter during the season, and maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA.

"At its core, college tennis is about higher education, and our sport has always been a leader when it comes to high performing scholar-athletes," said Timothy Russell, Chief Executive Officer of the ITA. "This group represents the best of the best, as do their coaches who regularly serve as such great teachers and mentors of our sport's finest young people."
A combined 2,566 student-athletes and 451 teams from NCAA Divisions I, II and III, the NAIA and NJCAA claimed ITA Scholar-Athlete honors for the 2014-15 year.

For more on the 2014-15 ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes, please visit ITA.com