Five #uttylerwtennis Players Named ITA Scholar-Athletes

Friday, July 11, 2014

TYLER -- Five UT Tyler women's tennis players have been named 2014 Scholar-Athletes by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, announced Thursday.  Amy Friesenhahn, Tori Musngi, Jessica Blundell, Katy Zagurski and Janae Warren all took home the honors.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman thorough senior year).

Blundell, the lone senior on the squad, finished out her stellar UT Tyler-career by helping to lead the Patriots to the 2014 American Southwest Conference championship.

All five players were also named ASC All-Academic for the 2014 season, while Friesenhahn was named the winner of the Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award.

For more on the 2014 NCAA Div. III ITA Scholar-Athletes, please visit