Women's Tennis Headed West for NCAAs
UT Tyler captured its third consecutive ASC Title.
UT Tyler captured its third consecutive ASC Title.

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has released the 48 teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Championships, with 28th-ranked University of Texas at Tyler drawing an NCAA Regional pairing in Claremont, Calif., on the campus of Pomona-Pitzer.

UT Tyler (16-3) is making its third consecutive appearance in the NCAA postseason and will open play Thursday, May 13 at 3 p.m. PDT against Northwest Conference Champions Whitworth University (19-4) out of Spokane, Wash. The matchup between the two schools is the second in as many years in the first-round of the NCAA Tournament, with the Patriots coming away with a 5-0 victory last year to advance to the second round.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 14-16 or May 13-14. The University of Mary Washington will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 25-27 at the Battleground Tennis Complex in Fredericksburg, Va.

Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 36 conference champions, including UT Tyler out of the American Southwest Conference, which form "Pool A" selections. Four teams are then selected from true independent schools from conference that do not have automatic bids (Pool B) while the remaining eight selections (Pool C) are chosen from schools with automatic bids who did not win their respective conference.