CENTER COURT: Follow the #ASCtennis Championship

Saturday, April 23, 2016
by Wes Bloomquist || wbloomquist@uttyler.edu

Brackets: Men | Women

For the first time in ASC history the men's and women's tournaments will be played as separate events. With full conference membership in tennis the championship field has expanded to eight teams in both events with four teams from the East and West divisions.

The women's tournament will be held at East Division champion UT Tyler Thursday-Saturday (April 21-23) at the Summers Tennis Center, while the men's tournament will be hosted by West Division champion UT Dallas Thursday-Saturday (April 28-30) at the UTD Tennis Complex in Richardson. The UT Tyler men's and women's teams enter as two-time defending champion and has won seven of the last eight ASC crowns.

In the women's tournament, UT Tyler finished the season undefeated in conference play at 4-0 claiming the East Division title and leads the ASC with an 18-3 overall record. Hardin-Simmons won the West Division title with a 5-0 record and was 12-5 overall.

The women's tournament will begin Thursday, April 21 in match one with the No. 3 West seed Mary Hardin-Baylor(3-2 ASC) and the No. 2 East seed East Texas Baptist (3-1 ASC) at 9:00 a.m. In match two, Hardin-Simmons and the No. 4 East seed LeTourneau (1-3 ASC) are scheduled for an 11:30 a.m. start. No. 3 East seed University of Ozarks (2-2 ASC) and the No. 2 West seed UT Dallas (4-1 ASC) are slated for a 2:00 p.m. start and UT Tyler will play the No. 4 West seed Sul Ross State (2-3 ASC) in the last match of the quarterfinal round at 4:30 p.m.

In the men's tournament, UT Tyler posted a 4-0 mark in conference play to claim the East Division title and led the ASC with a 14-9 overall record. Tournament host UT Dallas went undefeated against ASC teams with a 5-0 record to win the West Division crown and went 7-1 overall.

The men's tournament will get underway in match one Thursday, April 28 as the No. 3 East seed LeTourneau (2-2 ASC) meets No. 2 West seed Hardin-Simmons (4-1 ASC) at 9:00 a.m. UT Tyler will first take the court in match two against No. 4 West seed Mary Hardin-Baylor (2-3 ASC) at 11:30 a.m. In match three, No. 3 West seed Concordia Texas (3-2 ASC) will take on No. 2 East seed East Texas Baptist (3-1 ASC) at 2:00 p.m. Concordia Texas had a successful inaugural season as the Tornados will compete in their first ASC Championship. In the last match of the quarterfinal round UT Dallas will meet No. 4 East seed University of Ozarks (1-3 ASC) at 4:30 p.m.

In both the men's and women's tournaments, winners from match one and two, and winners from match three and four will meet in the semifinal round in matches five and six, respectively.

The women's championship is scheduled for Saturday, April 23 at 11:00 a.m. and the men's championship is slated to begin Saturday, April 30 at 11:00 a.m.

This year's ASC Championship marks the 20th in league history dating back to 1997. In the men's tournament, Hardin Simmons and UT Tyler are tied for the ASC lead with seven conference championships each. Hardin-Simmons also leads the women's tournament with nine league titles including seven consecutive (2001-07). Hardin Simmons (16) and UT Tyler (14) rank first and second, respectively, in number of combined conference championships with the Patriots claiming the last two consecutive titles in both men's and women's tennis.

The men's and women's ASC champions will each earn the conference's automatic bids into their respective NCAA Division III Tennis Championships. The NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Championship will be held at the Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. The NCAA team selections will be released Monday, May 9 with the individual selections coming Wednesday, May 11. The NCAA team championships will be played May 23-25 with the individual championships scheduled for May 26-28.

ASC CHAMPIONSHIPS, PET POLICY: Per American Southwest Conference policy, pets -- leashed or unleashed -- are prohibited at all ASC championship events. Only certified service animals that are marked, properly trained and leashed are permitted at events.

Women's Championship
Quarterfinals, Thursday, April 21
Match 1: (E2) East Texas Baptist vs. (W3) Mary Hardin-Baylor, 9:00 a.m.
Match 2: (W1) Hardin-Simmons vs. (E4) LeTourneau, 11:30 a.m.
Match 3: (W2) UT Dallas vs. (E3) Univ. of Ozarks, 2:00 p.m.
Match 4: (E1) UT Tyler vs. (W4) Sul Ross State, 4:30 p.m.

Semifinals, Friday, April 22
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 10:30 a.m.
Match 6: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 4:30 p.m.

Championship, Saturday, April 23
Match 7: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 11:00 a.m.

Men's Championship
Quarterfinals, Thursday, April 28
Match 1: (W2) Hardin-Simmons vs. (E3) LeTourneau, 9:00 a.m.
Match 2: (E1) UT Tyler vs. (W4) Mary Hardin-Baylor, 11:30 a.m.
Match 3: (E2) East Texas Baptist vs. (W3) Concordia Texas, 2:00 p.m.
Match 4: (W1) UT Dallas vs. (E4) Univ. of Ozarks, 4:30 p.m.

Semifinals, Friday, April 29
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 10:30 a.m.
Match 6: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 4:30 p.m.

Championship, Saturday, April 30
Match 7: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 11:00 a.m.

Copyright ©2018 UT Tyler Athletics. All Rights Reserved. UTTylerPatriots.com