CHAMPS: @UTTylerWGolf wins 4th straight ASC Championship

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
by Wes Bloomquist ||

CORINTH – UT Tyler senior Morgan Loth became the first two-time American Southwest Conference Championship medalist in program history and the Patriots won their fourth straight team title in dominant fashion on Tuesday at the Oakmont Country Club.


Loth would shoot a 74-73 – 147 to win the individual championship for the second straight season, while the Patriots carded a 302-306 – 608 for their fourth straight and fifth overall ASC championship. Mary Hardin-Baylor finished second to the Patriots after carding a 313-314 – 627 and Hardin-Simmons was third with a 318-329 – 647. Loth is the third back-to-back ASC champion in the conference’s history following McKenzie Ralston (2014, 15) and Taylor O’Rear (2012, 13).

Amy Cox finished the tournament as the runner-up after carding an impressive 74-77 – 151 for the Patriots and Stephanie Tutt shot a 77-79 – 156 for sixth place and second-team all-conference honors along with Katelyn Hicken who had a 77-83 – 160 in her first ASC Championship. Hicken finished seventh overall at the tournament, while Taylor Denton was 15th after a strong closing-round of 77 and a two-day total of 166 in her sophomore season.

Carly Pachuta was the first-round leader and finished third with a 73-79 – 152 for Hardin-Simmons, while UMHB’s Tori Gatlin and Oliva Robinson tied for fourth with 155s.

UT Tyler earned an automatic berth to the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Championship which will be held from May 9-12 at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston. The Patriots earned a runner-up finish at last year’s national tournament and came into the ASC Championship tournament as the No. 7-ranked team in the nation. The four straight ASC titles are the most consecutive titles since UMHB won seven in a row from 2000-06.