RECAP: McIlory, Willis lead #UTTylerXC in Marshall

Saturday, October 7, 2017

MARSHALL – The UT Tyler men’s cross country team won the East Texas Invitational on Saturday with Will McIlroy leading the Patriots while the women’s team took third with Rachel Willis establishing a new personal best and finishing third individual at the Marshall City Arena.

McIlroy ran a 27:07.05 for third place overall with ETBU’s Mack Broussard winning the men’s race in a time of 26:48 and LeTourneau’s Michael Field taking second in the DIII race with a run of 27:06.12 to finish just ahead of McIlroy who also established a PR. UT Tyler freshman Matthew Cecotti ran a 27:36.83 for ninth overall, while Jace Seymour crossed in 27:46.59 for 11th followed by Nathan Adams (27:49.15), Shafen Borah (27:57.43) and Justin Tokuz (28:12.58).

Willis ran a 23:52 for third place behind only UT Dallas’ Lindsey Rayborn who won the event with a time of 22:47.37 and Eden Llamas (Austin College) who finished second by running a 23:52. UT Tyler’s Paulina Rodriguez ran a 25:01 for 11th and freshman Theresa Simmons ran a 25:30 which put her 15th in the race.

The UT Dallas women won the team title with McMurry finishing second, just two points ahead of the Patriots.

UT Tyler will return to competition next Saturday at the Mississippi College Invitational in Clinton, Mississippi in its final tune up before the American Southwest Conference Championships which will be on Oct. 28 at Old Settler’s Park in Round Rock.