PREVIEW: #UTTylerXC looks to defend ASC titles

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
by Wes Bloomquist ||

ASC Championship: Host Site | 6k-8k Routes | History

TYLER – The UT Tyler Patriots will look to defend their titles at the American Southwest Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday at the Balcones-Spicewood Cross Country Course in Austin.

The UT Tyler men’s team has won 10 of the last 11 championships, including six straight titles. The women’s team has won three straight championships and four overall titles with their first coming in 2009. UT Tyler’s domination at the ASC Championship includes three straight individual women’s champions and six straight men’s champions. UT Tyler’s Brittany Brunson and Matthew Markert won the ASC individual titles last season as seniors.

The women’s 6K race is scheduled to begin at 8:15 a.m. with the men’s 8K starting at 9 a.m. on the Austin course which is being hosted by Concordia.

The Patriot men have two first-place team scores this fall and are led by freshman Will McIlroy with two top-five times. An ASC Runner of the Week selection (Oct. 3), McIlroy will attempt to become the sixth consecutive UT Tyler men’s runner to claim medalist honors at the ASC Championship and the 10th overall. Nathan Adams, a freshman from The Woodlands, has also had a strong season finishing second on the team in four races this season. He is coming off a 19th place finish at the Watson Ford Invitational in Mississippi with a time of 28:10. McIlroy finished 17th at that event with a time of 28:07 while seniors Gerardo Viera was 20th (28:23) and Miles Zeorlin was 22nd with a 28:27. Viera and Zeorlin are the only two seniors competing for the men’s team. The men's team will also be represented by Marcus Allen, Shafen Borah, Quinton Bryson, Parker Cota, Matt Donahue, Matt Godwin, Jordan Grubb, Andrew Hernandez, Logan Houser, Aaron Hurd, Stephen Johnson, Daniel Juren, Conor Linekin, Eric Newman, Dylan Stegall, Justin Tokuz and Jackson Waschek. 

The Patriot women have one first-place finish and one runner-up score led by junior Rachel Willis and senior Holly Nohavitza. An ASC Runner of the Week selection, Nohavitza claims three top-10 finishes with two runner-up scores. Both runners will look to extend the streak of three consecutive UT Tyler women ASC medalists. Nohavitza has not competed since finishing 13th at the Watson Ford Invite to lead the Patriots, while Willis was 18th at the event. Willis would run two weeks ago at the University of Dallas Invitational where she finished fourth with a time of 19:49. Nohavitza is a senior from Portland, while Willis is a junior from Hallsville who will look to lead the Patriots at the meet.  The team will also be represented by Bethany Cox, Lauren Halliday, Mari Rodriguez, Rebekah Groth, Michaela Heys, Lauren Knight, Kelli Kissinger, Stephanie Pierce, Caitlin Pruett, Tristin Salem and Courtney Smith.

"Our performances this season have been good and have gotten better at each meet,” UT Tyler coach Grant Spencer said. “This semesters training is working well for our team so we are continuing with it up to regionals. Our veterans have been leading us well but our freshmen and new runners also look to be peaking here at the right time. I believe the girls are ready to go for it at the conference meet Saturday and I'm excited to see them all run well." 

Men's Team Champions

1996 Ozarks
1997 Mississippi College
1998 Mississippi College
1999 McMurry
2000 McMurry
2001 Mississippi College
2002 Mississippi College
2003 Mississippi College
2004 Mississippi College
2005 Texas-Tyler
2006 Texas-Tyler
2007 Texas-Tyler
2008 Texas-Tyler
2009 Mississippi College
2010 Texas-Tyler
2011 Texas-Tyler
2012 Texas-Tyler
2013 Texas-Tyler
2014 Texas-Tyler
2015 Texas-Tyler

Men's Individual Champions

1996 Mitchell Wolowicz, McMurry (24:40.5 – 5 mile)
1997 Seth Jones, Mississippi College (31:54.00 – 8K)
1998 David Chandler, McMurry (27:17.70 – 8K)
1999 Tom Hanes, Mississippi College (26:56.20 – 8K)
2000 David Chandler, McMurry (27:31.00 – 8K)
2001 Justin Jernigan, Mississippi College (26:55.38 – 8K)
2002 Braegan Enright, McMurry (27:23.00 – 8K)
2003 Justin Rogers, Mississippi College (27:40.96 – 8K)
2004 Mathew Manning, Mississippi College (27:37.00 – 8K)
2005 Mathew Manning, Mississippi College (25:50.46 – 8K)
2006 Ben Donnan, Texas-Tyler (26:16.00 – 8K)
2007 Ben Donnan, Texas-Tyler (25:46.34 – 8K)
2008 Warren Brown, Texas-Tyler (26:06 – 8K)
2009 Tino Gonzalez, Mississippi College (28:02.32 – 8K)
2010 Jeff Chandler, Texas-Tyler (26:20.00 – 8K)
2011 Ross Renfroe, Texas-Tyler (25:42.30 – 8K) $
2012 Nick Huff, Texas-Tyler (26:12.97 – 8k)
2013 Nick Huff, Texas-Tyler (26:43.73 – 8k)
2014 Conner Benson, Texas-Tyler (26:44.22 – 8k)
2015 Matthew Markert, Texas-Tyler (27:36.00 – 8k)

$8k ASC Championship Record
Women's Team Champions

1996 Austin College
1997 Mississippi College
1998 Mississippi College
1999 Mississippi College
2000 Mississippi College
2001 Mississippi College
2002 Texas Lutheran
2003 Texas Lutheran
2004 Texas Lutheran
2005 Mississippi College
2006 McMurry
2007 Mississippi College
2008 Mississippi College
2009 Texas-Tyler
2010 Hardin-Simmons
2011 Concordia Texas
2012 Mississippi College
  Texas Lutheran (Co-champs)
2013 Texas-Tyler
2014 Texas-Tyler
2015 Texas-Tyler

Women’s Individual Champions

1996 Alisha Rygh, Howard Payne (20:25.00 – 5K)
1997 Julie Schmidt, Mississippi College (23:31.00 – 5K)
1998 Sheila Hynum, Mississippi College (19:40.33 – 5K)
1999 Sheila Hynum, Mississippi College (21:07.10 – 5K)
2000 Nicole Hollifield, Mississippi College (19:29.00 – 5K)
2001 Nicole Hollifield, Mississippi College (19:07.64 – 5K)
2002 Amanda Ward, McMurry (24:50.00 – 6K)
2003 Samara Williams, Texas Lutheran (24:19.89 – 6K)
2004 Samara Williams, Texas Lutheran (24:44.00 – 6K)
2005 Rachel Hardin, Mississippi College (24:09.78 – 6K)
2006 Carla Lewis, McMurry (24:11.00 – 6K)
2007 Magan Saenz, Texas Lutheran (24:16.65 – 6K)
2008 Kellie Kirby, Mississippi College (24:36.60 – 6K)
2009 Carla Lewis, McMurry (25:01.52 – 6K)
2010 Lindsey Hinton, Hardin-Simmons (23:14.00 – 6K)
2011 Alaisha Guerra, McMurry (23:54.18 – 6K)
2012 Nicole Leman, LeTourneau (22:39.95 – 6k) $
2013 Carly Kitts, Texas-Tyler (23:29.20 – 6K)
2014 Carly Kitts, Texas-Tyler (23:10.16 – 6K)
2015 Brittany Brunson, Texas-Tyler (24:57.31 – 6K)

$6k ASC Championship Record