ASC POSTSEASON: @UTTylerWBB to play CTX on Thursday

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Championship Central | Bracket | History | Records

RICHARDSON – The UT Tyler women's basketball team will play Concordia at 12 p.m. on Thursday in the first game of the 2018 American Southwest Conference Women’s Basketball Championship Tournament at the UTD Activity Center in Richardson.

UT Dallas won the East Division title and earned the right to host the event that will be played Thursday through Saturday. 
The quarterfinals are scheduled for Thursday and the semifinals will be played Friday. Game five will tip at 5 p.m. and game six is scheduled for a 7:30 p.m. start time. The championship game will begin at 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 24 with the winner earning the ASC automatic bid to the NCAA Division III tournament. 
Concordia (14-11), the No. 3 seed from the West Divison, will tip-off the tournament against the No. 2 seed from the East, UT (17-8), at noon Thursday. The Tornados will make their seventh consecutive appearance, while the Patriots will be appearing for the sixth straight season and eighth overall.

The second quarterfinal will see the No. 4 seed from the East, Louisiana College (14-10) take on West Division leader University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (21-4) at 2:30 p.m. The Wildcats are making their 11th appearance in the ASC Championship Tournament. They were the runner-ups in 2017. The Cru claimed the West Division crown for just the second time in program history, the first time was in 2010, and are making their 14th appearance.
East Texas Baptist University (19-6), the No. 3 East team will tussle with No. 2 West Howard Payne University (15-10) at 5 p.m. The Tigers return to the tournament for the ninth time and program history and the first since 2016. The Lady Jackets, who were the runner-up in 2016, are making their 16th appearance overall and 15th in a row.
UT Dallas (22-3) will host Hardin-Simmons University (6-19), the No. 4 seed from the West in the final quarterfinal game at 7:30 p.m. HSU is making their ASC-record 18th appearance in the tournament. The Comets will make their 12th straight trip to the ASC Tournament and will host for the first time. UTD won the ASC Championship in 2013, 2015 and 2017.
The 2018 ASC Championship Tournament is the 20th women’s basketball postseason tournament dating back to 1999. The winner of the tournament is the ASC champion and earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Championship.
2017 ASC Championship
Quarterfinals: Thursday, February 22
Game 1: (E2) UT Tyler vs. (W3) Concordia Texas, 12:00 p.m.
Game 2: (W1) Mary Hardin-Baylor vs. (E4) Louisiana College, 2:30 p.m.
Game 3: (W2) Howard Payne vs. (E3) East Texas Baptist, 5:00 p.m.
Game 4: (E1) UT Dallas vs. (W4) Hardin-Simmons, 7:30 p.m.
Semifinals: Friday, February 23
Game 5: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 5:00 p.m.
Game 6: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 7:30 p.m.
Championship: Saturday, February 24
Game 7: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 6:00 p.m.