UPDATE: @UTT_TF meet in Dallas canceled

Friday, December 1, 2017
by Wes Bloomquist | wbloomquist@uttyler.edu

UPDATE: The UT Tyler Track & Field team will not be competing today at the Dunamis Indoor Opener at Dallas Market Hall after the event was canceled. UT Tyler will now open its Indoor season on Jan. 20, 2018 at the UCO Open in Norman, Oklahoma.

TYLER – The UT Tyler Track & Field program was scheduled to open its Indoor season on Friday with 26 athletes competing at the Dunamis Indoor Opener at Dallas Market Hall. . 

UT Tyler was going to be represented by Baylee Cochran, Ashton Hawkins, Sydney Makowski, Michaela McGeary, Victoria Nix, Lexie Petty, Kaylee Prather, Theresa Simmons and Emma Snyder on the women’s side while the men’s team includes Nathan Adams, Cody Benton, Matthew Cecotti, Daulton Coleman, Chris Goodson, Damarion Greenwood, Daniel Juren, Grayson Lawrence, Brock Marion, Ed Miller, Charlie Quintero, Zach Richardson, Collin Rippy, Nikelas Simmons, Justin Tokuz, Jonathan Tran, Kade Trompler and Zachary Tucker. Additionally, defending NCAA champion Whitney Simmons, coach Chris Stonestreet and Ali Yazdanshenas will be competing as unattached athletes in the weight throw.

The Indoor program will now open its season with a trip to Norman, Oklahoma for the UCO Open on January 20, 2018 before trips to Joplin, Missouri and then back to Norman. The Indoor season will culminate with the NCAA Division III Nationals on March 9-10, 2018 in Birmingham, Alabama.

UT Tyler was going to be competing against a variety of collegiate teams on Friday, including Austin College, Hardin-Simmons, McMurry and Texas Lutheran from the DIII ranks and also DI and DII student-athletes from Abilene Christian, Incarnate Word, Northwestern State, Southern Arkansas, SFA, Texas A&M-Kingsville, UT Arlington and UTSA.


Nathan Adams: 1-mile, 4000-meter DMR               
Cody Benton: Long jump, Triple jump
Matthew Cecotti: 1-mile, 4000mDMR, 4x400
Daulton Coleman: Weight throw
Chris Goodson: High jump, Triple jump
Damarion Greenwood: 400m, 4x400
Daniel Juren: 400m, 4x400, 4000mDMR
Grayson Lawrence: 400, 4x400
Brock Marion: 60m, 200m, 4x400
Ed Miller: 400m, 4x400, 4000mDMR
Charlie Quintero: 1-mile
Zach Richardson: 60m, 200m, 4x400
Collin Rippy: 400m, 4x400
Nikelas Simmons: Weight throw
Justin Tokuz: 1-mile, 4000mDMR
Jonathan Tran: 60m, 200m
Kade Trompler: 60m, 200m
Zachary Tucker: 1-mile, 4000mDMR

Baylee Cochran: Weight throw
Ashton Hawkins: 60m, 200m
Sydney Makowski: Shot put, Weight throw
Michaela McGeary: Shot put, Weight throw
Victoria Nix: Pole vault
Lexi Petty: Weight throw
Kaylee Prather: 60m, Long jump
Theresa Simmons: 1-mile
Emma Snyder: Shot put, Weight throw