CHAMPS: #UTTylerXC men win 8th straight ASC title

Saturday, October 28, 2017

ROUND ROCK – The UT Tyler men’s cross country team won its eighth straight American Southwest Conference Cross Country Championship title and the 12th in the past 13 years after having three top-10 finishers on Saturday at Old Settlers Park.

Meet Results | History

On the women’s side, the Patriots finished third overall led by senior Rachel Willis who earned All-ASC first-team honors after she ran a 23:57.3 on the 6K course to earn fifth place. UT Dallas won the women’s title, while McMurry finished second.

The UT Tyler men’s dominance began with the first ASC title in 2005 with 2009 being the only year since that the Patriots have not won the team title.The 12 championships are the most in ASC history, with Mississippi College having seven, McMurry two and Ozarks one. On Saturday, sophomore Will McIlroy and freshman Matthew Cecotti led the team with a fifth and sixth place finish while Justin Tokuz earned 10th. McIlroy has now led the team in four of six races and ran a 27:07.3 on the 8K course to earn All-ASC, while Cecotti ran a 27:09.6 for sixth. Cecotti also was named ASC Co-Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year honors.

“The conference is so much better than the past few years,” UT Tyler coach Bob Hepler said. “A lot of teams have moved up. We’ve improved a lot this year too. This meet was very close. You look at UT Dallas, McMurry and Hardin-Simmons and LeTourneau and they’re all stepping up. It was very meaningful for us to win today. Our guys needed to run our best race and we pretty much did. We really weren’t running that well at the beginning of the year, but our runners started closing the gap through hard work.”

Tokuz earned All-ASC second team honors and a top-10 finish by running a 27:21.3 in his third conference meet, while sophomore Nathan Adams also secured all-conference honors after running a 27:31.1 to finish 14th overall. Shafen Borah finished 18th overall with a run of 27:54.1 and freshman Jace Seymour was 20th with a time of 28:01.4 on the clock as he crossed the line. UT Tyler was also represented by Charlie Quintero (28:41.7), Jackson Cook (29:35.3), Zachary Tucker (31:14), Antonio Sanchez (31:40.3), Jose Prieto (32:24.7) and Carlos Flores (32:27.3).

Nathaniel Rankin won the men’s individual championship by running a 26:41.6 for Ozarks. UT Tyler won the meet with 52 points, while UT Dallas had 86 points for second and McMurry was third with 92 points. 

Following Willis who led the women’s team with a fifth-place showing, was junior Michaela Heys who ran a 25:17.8 for 17th place and freshman Paulina Rodriguez who clocked a 25:27.2 for a 20th-place finish for the Patriots. Fellow freshman Theresa Simmons crossed the line in 25:46.7 for 25th followed by Amy Wyatt (26:07), Tristin Salem (26:18.2), Courtney Smith (28:27), Lianne McKee (28:40) and Kiara Mayfield (28:54.7).

UT Dallas’ Lindsey Rayborn won the women’s race with a time of 22:37.8 for the ASC Championship.


2017 ASC Men's All-Conference Awards
Individual Champion: Nathaneal Rankin, Ozarks
Freshman of the Year: Nathaneal Rankin, Ozarks
Newcomer of the Year: Michael Harris, Ozarks
Coach of the Year: Bob Hepler, UT Tyler
Co-Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Beau Billings, East Texas Baptist
Co-Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Matthew Cecotti, UT Tyler
First Team
Nathaneal Rankin, Fr., Ozarks
Michael Harris, So., Ozarks
Joseph Parker, So., Sul Ross State
Mack Broussard, Fr., East Texas Baptist
Will McIlroy, So., UT Tyler
Matthew Cecotti, Fr., UT Tyler
Tyler Rohrman, So., McMurry
Second Team
Michael Field, Jr., LeTourneau
A.J. Tillman, Fr., Hardin-Simmons
Justin Tokus, Jr., UT Tyler
Ben Splain, Fr., Hardin-Simmons
Abrahama Martinez, Jr., McMurry
Nathan Adams, So., UT Tyler
John Will, Jr. UT Dallas


2017 ASC Women's All-Conference Awards
Individual Champion: Lindsey Rayborn, UT Dallas
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Robson, Hardin-Simmons
Newcomer of the Year: Alex Fulton, McMurry
Coach of the Year: Rayn House, UT Dallas
Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Anna Schaefer, UT Dallas
First Team
Lindsey Rayborn, Sr., UT Dallas
Sydney Tencate, So., Hardin-Simmons
Emily Villines, Jr., Concordia Texas
Alexis Segura, So., LeTourneau
Rachel Willis, Sr., UT Tyler
Hollee Ratliff, So., UT Dallas
Lauren Robson, Fr., Hardin-Simmons
Second Team
Tiffany Cox, Fr., McMurry
Samantha Tschirhart, Sr., UT Dallas
Sadie Dolbear-Craven, Jr., McMurry
Hannah Smith, Jr., Ozarks
Kirstiana Welch, Fr., LeTourneau
Alex Fulton, Jr., McMurry
Shelby McWilliams, So., McMurry