UT Tyler to face Cowboys in ASC Baseball Finals
Texas-Tyler (29-16)
Hardin-Simmons (28-17)
5/13/2016 | Abilene, Texas | Attendance: 453
Win: Cason Adams (7-2) 7.052236
Loss: Ritzel (4-1) 3.163342
Sam Lane (UTT) 623301
Cooling (HSU) 502000
Parker (HSU) 412000

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Bracket | Tournament Page

RICHARDSON – The 2016 American Southwest Conference Baseball Championship between UT Tyler and Hardin-Simmons begins at 7 p.m. on Friday in Abilene at Hunter Field.

The 2016 ASC Championship Tournament began with two four-team tournament brackets, and has advanced to a best of three-game series in the Gold bracket finals between UT Tyler, the Blue tournament bracket winner, and Hardin-Simmons, the Red tournament bracket winner.

Both teams come into the series with a record of 28-16. UT Tyler swept the last meeting against Hardin-Simmons in a three-game conference series in 2015.

The Gold bracket winner is the ASC champion and earns automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. 

Blue Tournament Winner: UT Tyler

UT Tyler posted a 3-1 record to win the Blue tournament bracket in Austin, Texas. The Patriots opened with a win over LeTourneau (8-4), then upset the ASC regular season champion and host Concordia Texas (4-3). UT Dallas gave the Patriots their first loss of the tournament on Sunday (9-7), but won the second game over UTD (7-2) to claim the title and advance to the Gold bracket.

UT Tyler recorded five all-tournament selections led by freshman infielder Blake Wilson, the Blue tournament MVP. Junior pitcher Reese Read, senior pitcher Michael Blevins, junior first baseman Daniel Williams and freshman pitcher Max Page also received honors. Wilson led all Blue tournament players with nine hits and seven runs scored. Read finished all three wins on the mound for the Patriots. Blevins led with nine strikeouts, had one win, a 1.29 ERA and held opposing batters to a .115 average. Williams led the tournament in batting average (.563), slugging percentage (.938) and total bases (15), and Page recorded the most innings pitched in the UT Tyler rotation (8.1) and had one win and four strike outs.

UT Tyler won the ASC championship in 2015 and has claimed four conference titles overall.

Red Tournament Winner: Hardin-Simmons

Hardin-Simmons defeated East Texas Baptist, the top hitting team in the ASC, two times to win the Red tournament bracket. The Cowboys recorded a 3-1 record and scored at least eight runs in each game. HSU opened with a win over Sul Ross State (8-6), and then defeated East Texas Baptist (9-8) to advance in the winner’s bracket. In the second game against ETBU the Tigers handed HSU its first loss (12-11), but the Cowboys took the decisive game (8-6) winning the Red bracket and the right to host the Gold series as the highest remaining seed.

Hardin-Simmons received five all-tournament selections led by junior outfielder Zack de Luna, the Red tournament MVP. Junior designated hitter Colton Parker, senior pitcher Colton Spears, sophomore pitcher Ty Engelhardt and sophomore infielder Elijah Perez also received honors.

De Luna led HSU in hits (9), runs scored (8) and had two home runs and 15 total bases. Parker led all Red tournament players in home runs (4) and led HSU in RBI (8) and total bases (20). Spears led the HSU rotation in strike outs (8) and innings pitched (7.1). Engelhardt recorded one win, had four strike outs and allowed only one walk and Perez anchored the HSU infield with 25 putouts on 26 chances.

Hardin-Simmons makes its first ASC Championship finals appearance since 2005 and is in search of its first conference crown.

NOTES: Admission is $8 for adults and $5 for students … No Pets allowed at the conference tournament per ASC policy within the confines of the facility. Only properly marked and leashed service animals are permitted ... To talk about / follow the tournament on Twitter, use the hashtag: #ASCbb.

The bracket for the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship will be announced Sunday, May 15 at approximately 11:00 p.m. (CT) on NCAA.com. The NCAA Regionals will be May 18-22 at eight different campus locations and the Finals are scheduled for May 27-31 at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin.


2016 ASC Championship Finals

Golf Bracket | Abilene, Texas | Hunter Field | Hosted by Hardin-Simmons University


Friday, May 13

Game 1: UT Tyler vs. Hardin-Simmons, 7:00 p.m.


Saturday, May 14

Game 2: UT Tyler vs. Hardin-Simmons, 1:00 p.m.

Game 3 (if needed): 30 minutes after Game 2