Texas-Tyler Named Athletic Training Staff of the Year

Friday, July 31, 2015

RICHARDSON -- The athletic training staff at The University of Texas at Tyler has been named by its peers as the winner of the 2014-15 American Southwest Conference Athletic Training Staff of the Year Award.
Led by head athletic trainer Andrew Cage, Texas-Tyler receives its first ASC Athletic Training Staff of the Year Award.
"We are pleased Andrew and his staff have been chosen as the ASC Athletic Training Staff of the Year," said Texas-Tyler Athletic Director Howard Patterson. "Andrew and his staff operate an extremely efficient and professional athletic training program that maximizes our student-athlete's ability to remain healthy and resume play as soon as possible. We are fortunate to have them."
Cage began his duties as the Texas-Tyler head athletic trainer in 2013. Cage has presented at National and Regional Sports Medicine Conferences on topics relevant to modern athletic training issues. He has used these opportunities to spread awareness of evidence based practice concepts within clinical athletic training settings. Cage is also an American Red Cross CPR/AED/First Aid Instructor, a NASM certified Corrective Exercise Specialist and Performance Enhancement Specialist, and an International Cupping Therapy Association Certified Cupping Therapist.
Cage received his Bachelors of Science in Athletic Training from Texas Lutheran University in 2010 and completed his Masters of Education in Athletic Training at the University of Virginia in 2011.
The ASC Athletic Training Staff of the Year award is presented by the conference following voting by the membership's athletic training staffs. All full-time athletic training staff members must be in good standing with professional organizations and be either NATA or state licensed, and the head athletic trainer must have been at the institution for a minimum of two years to be considered for the award.
The 2014-15 award is the 11th presented by the ASC. Former winners include Texas Dallas with four awards, Mary Hardin-Baylor and Ozarks with three awards each, Hardin-Simmons has two and Concordia Texas, East Texas Baptist, Howard Payne, Louisiana College, Sul Ross State, Texas-Tyler and former league members Mississippi College and Schreiner have one award apiece.

All-Time Winners

Year School  
2014-15 Texas-Tyler  
2013-14 Concordia Texas  
2012-13 (co) Texas Dallas, Ozarks  
  East Division West Division
2011-12 Louisiana College Schreiner
2010-11 Ozarks Sul Ross State
2009-10 LeTourneau Hardin-Simmons
2008-09 (co) Mississippi College Mary Hardin-Baylor
  (co) Texas Dallas  
2007-08 Ozarks Howard Payne
2006-07 Texas Dallas Mary Hardin-Baylor
2005-06 East Texas Baptist Hardin-Simmons
2004-05 Texas Dallas Mary Hardin-Baylor

The ASC changed from an East and West division into a single division format in the 2012-13 academic year.