Friesenhahn Nominee for 2014-15 NCAA Woman of the Year

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- UT Tyler Women's Tennis senior Amy Friesenhahn is one of three American Southwest Conference student-athletes nominated for the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Now in its 25th year, the Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership.
Of the women nominated by their institutions, 180 competed in Division III, including ASC student-athletes Amy Friesenhahn of the University of Texas at Tyler, Madison Hess of the University of Texas at Dallas and Shelby Parker of East Texas Baptist University. A total of 207 nominees competed in Division I and 93 competed in Division II athletics.
Friesenhahn,  a tennis student-athlete and captain of the 2014-15 ASC championship squad, holds both bachelor's and master's degrees in political science from UT Tyler. A three-time ASC Academic All-Conference honoree and two-time member of the ASC Women's Tennis Distinguished Scholar team, Friesenhahn was involved in several community service projects while a student, including Hope Open and the Quick Start Tennis program with the Boys and Girls Club.

Friesenhahn was also named the 2014-15 UT Tyler Female Student-Athlete of the Year, and was a recipient of the prestigious ITA Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award Winner for the 2013-14 season.
The NCAA Woman of the Year award process begins with member institutions nominating a top graduating female student-athlete for consideration by its conference. Conferences then forward a conference nominee to the Woman of the Year selection committee. Conference nominees will be announced July 23.
The NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee will choose the top 30 honorees – 10 from each division – and from that group will determine the top three nominees from each division. The top nine finalists will be announced in September.
The 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced, and the Top 30 honorees celebrated, at the annual award ceremony Oct. 18 in Indianapolis.

To view the list of all student-athletes nominated by their institution, click here.
To view the NCAA release, click here.