RECAP: @UTT_TF men lead ASC meet after opening day

Friday, April 20, 2018
by Wes Bloomquist |

ABILENE – UT Tyler senior Matthew Godwin punched his ticket to nationals in the javelin and won the American Southwest Conference Championship for the fourth straight year after a career-best throw of 63.23 meters at Wilford Moore Stadium.

Kaylee Prather recorded a national leading long jump of 5.83 meters at the meet, but finished second to McMurry’s Shamaujae Crockett who won the meet 5.99 meters. Prather’s jump extended her program record in the event.

UT Tyler is atop the men’s standings with 70 points and is second in the women’s standings with 39 points. McMurry leads the women’s competition going into the final day with 80 points, while the War Hawk men are second with 35 points.

Godwin’s throw of 63.23 was first and followed by UT Tyler’s Daulton Coleman who finished second with a distance of 47.95 meters and Nike Simmons who gained points for the Patriots with a distance of 42.98 and a sixth-place finish in the javelin. Godwin won last year’s meet with a with a throw of 53.27, improving 10 meters from last year to this year. In the men’s 3,000 steeplechase Will McIlroy finished second with a time of 10:17.46 for eight points for the Patriots.

UT Tyler picked up 16 points in the men’s 10,000 meters led by Nathan Adams who finished second with a time of 34:56.24 followed by Matthew Cecotti’s time of 35:09.56 for third. Marcus Allen would give the Patriots two more points in the event by finishing fifth with a run of 35:21.07. Nike Simmons finished second in the hammer with a throw of 42.18 meters which was just behind the championship throw of 43.51 meters. Daulton Coleman gave the Patriots five more points by finishing fourth with a throw of 40.05 meters. In the men’s long jump, Cody Benton earned fourth place in his freshman year meet with a mark of 6.97 meters and he would also finish fourth in the triple jump at 13.40 meters. McMurry’s Sean Germany won the men’s triple jump at 14.08 meters.

Lexie Petty finished as the ASC Championship runner-up in the hammer with a throw of 47.45 meters, while Michaela McGeary was third in the event at 44.97 meters. UT Tyler would also gain points with Baylee Cochran was sixth at 40.20 meters and Sydney Makowski seventh at 37.32 meters.

In the women’s 3,000 steeplechase, Paulina Rodriguez ran a 12:59.96 for third and Courtney Smith was fourth with a time of 13:35.73.