AWARD: Fagundes earns ITA All-America honors
Graphic by: Jordan Kinney
Graphic by: Jordan Kinney

Thursday, June 8, 2017
by Wes Bloomquist ||

TYLER – UT Tyler’s Arthur Fagundes has earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association NCAA Division III All-America honors in singles play after going 14-3 this season and advancing to the NCAA DIII Championship.

A sophomore from Brazil, Fagundes has now won 30 matches in his first two seasons in Tyler and has earned at-large bids to the national tournament each season. He finished his season ranked No. 16 in the nation and with only one regular-season defeat. His season ended in the NCAA tournament after taking a 6-3, 2-6, 6-3 loss two weeks ago to No. 18 Jeremy Dubin in the Round of 32 in the Round of 32 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

He opened his sophomore season with 10 straight wins, including nine straight two-set victories. He was pushed to a third for the first time in his 10th match of the year and won 4-6, 6-4, 10-1 over No. 17-ranked Will De Quant from Middlebury College. Fagundes also earned ranked win over No. 37 Chas Mayer (Trinity).

Fagundes is the 11th All-America in UT Tyler men’s tennis history and the first since Daniel Budd, Frankie Fischer and Chris Wootton earned the honor after the 2015 season. Fagundes has also earned American Southwest Conference Championship MVP, ASC East Division MVP, All-ASC, ASC All-Tournament and ASC All-Academic honors this season for the Patriots who won their fourth straight ASC title.

“Arthur played great this season,” said UT Tyler coach Joe Vann after the season. “I know he is a little disappointed in the way it ended for him, but when you look at his entire body of work he had a great year. He qualified for fall nationals by winning a regional ITA, we beat some great top players from around the country, and worked his way up to be in the top 10 singles player for the regular season. I am very proud that he put in the work needed to improve the parts of his game that he needed to for him to reach that level of play.

"I believe that he is ready for the next step, a big national tournament run," Vann said. "We have been to the postseason twice for individuals. His freshman year, he was very taken aback by the whole experience and got swept up by the veterans. This year he was involved the entire match, but still is getting used to the length of the season and what it takes to preform here this late in the year. Next year he will be ready to make a big splash, and show everyone what Patriot Tennis can do."

Division III Men

Lubomir Cuba, Middlebury 
Courtney Murphey, Wilkes
Kai Yuen Leung, Skidmore 
Jonathan Jemison, Emory
Erik Kerrigan, Chicago
Mohanad Al Houni, Gustavus Adolphus
Chase Lipscomb, University of Redlands
Grant Urken, Bowdoin
Branden Metzler, Kalamazoo
Tyler Barr, MIT
Jeremy Dubin, Johns Hopkins
Steven Chen, Wesleyan
Avery Schober, Sewanee
Nikolai Parodi, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nicholas Chua, Chicago
Daniel Levine, Carnegie Mellon
Daniel Morkovine, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Luke Tercek, Bowdoin
Aman Manji, Emory
Jake Yasgoor, Pomona-Pitzer
Glenn Hull, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Ben Rosen, Bates College
Arthur Fagundes, UT Tyler
Will De Quant, Middlebury
Brady Anderson, Coe College
Vlad Murad, Colby College
Michael Rozenvasser, Carnegie Mellon
David Liu, Chicago
Al Houni, Gustavus Adolphus
Spencer Watanabe, George Fox

Brian Grodecki/Alex Taylor, Williams
Justin Ancona/Matt Steiner, Wheaton
Scott Rubinstein/James Spaulding, Emory
Erik Kerrigan/Ninan Kumar, Chicago
Herman Abban/Pawel Jaworski, Carthage
Wilson Lambeth/Matt Tyer, Trinity (TX)
Zachary Bessette/Jayson Fung, Amherst
Mohanad Al Houni/Patrick Whaling, Gustavus Adolphus
Lubomir Cuba/William De Quant, Middlebury
Kai Yeun Leung/JT Wynne, Skidmore
Chris Ellis/Ben Rosen, Bates College 
Jeremy Dubin/Joseph Cartledge, Johns Hopkins
Kyle Wolfe/Jerry Jiang, Bowdoin
Sebastian Castillo/Sanchez/Zack Ebenfield, RPI
Mike Buxbaum/Emerson Walsh, Johns Hopkins
David Omsky/Jonathan Jemison, Emory
Tyler Raclin/Max Hawkins, Chicago
Luke Elifson/Marty Beck, University of St. Thomas
Spencer Watanabe/Alex Namba, George Fox
Julian Gordy/Daniel Morkovine, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 
Nikolai Parodi/Glenn Hull, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps