PREVIEW: @patriotstennis set for ASC tournaments

Sunday, April 23, 2017

RICHARDSON, Texas –  Brackets for the 2017 American Southwest Conference Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championship Tournaments were announced on Sunday (April 23). 

The ASC women’s tournament is played first and will be hosted by Hardin-Simmons University, top-seed in the West Division. Matches begin with quarterfinals on Thursday (April 27). Semifinal play is Friday (April 28) and the final on Saturday (April 29). All matches are scheduled at Streich Tennis Center on the HSU campus in Abilene, Texas.

Men's ASC tournament play is scheduled May 4-6 and will be hosted by the University of Texas at Tyler, the No. 1 seed in the East Division. Quarterfinals are May 4, semifinals May 5 and the final May 6. All matches will be held at the Summers Tennis Center on the UT Tyler campus.

Both UT Tyler teams open the conference postseason as three-time defending conference champions (2014, '15, '16) and have taken the ASC crown in eight of the last nine tournaments. The men's and women's ASC champions will each earn the ASC automatic berth into their respective NCAA Division III Tennis Championships.

In the women’s tournament, UT Tyler (11-8) finished the season undefeated in conference play at 4-0 claiming the East Division title and No. 1 East seed. East Texas Baptist (12-4) is the second seed in the East followed by LeTourneau (2-14) and University of the Ozarks (4-15) as third and fourth seeds, respectively. Hardin-Simmons (14-6) also posted an unblemished Division record (6-0) to claim top-seed in the West Division with UT Dallas (4-7) the No. 2 seed. Concordia Texas (6-11) is third seed and Howard Payne (5-14) fourth seed.

In the men’s tournament, UT Tyler (16-6) was 4-0 in the East Division for the top seed position. East Texas Baptist (5-10) and LeTourneau (6-11) are second and third seeds in the East with Ozarks (6-12) earning fourth seed. West Division No. 1 seed UT Dallas (11-3) was a perfect 6-0 in conference play. Mary Hardin-Baylor (9-4) is seeded second, Hardin-Simmons (9-11) the third seed, and Concordia Texas (4-12) the West No. 4 seed.

ASC Championships Pet Policy: Per American Southwest Conference policy, pets -- leashed or unleashed -- are prohibited at all ASC championship events. Only certified service animals that are marked, properly trained and leashed are permitted at events.



at Hardin-Simmons, Streich Tennis Center | Abilene, Texas

Quarterfinals  |  Thursday, April 27

Match 1:  UT Dallas (#2 West) vs. LeTourneau (#3 East), 9:00 a.m.

Match 2: Texas-Tyler (#1 East) vs. Howard Payne (#4 West), 11:30 a.m.

Match 3:  East Texas Baptist (#2 East) vs. Concordia Texas (#3 West), 2:00 p.m.

Match 4:  Hardin-Simmons (#1 West) vs. Ozarks (#4 East), 4:30 p.m.

Semifinals  |  Friday, April 28

Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 10:30 a.m.

Match 6: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 2:00 p.m.

Final  |  Saturday, April 29

Match 7: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 11:00 a.m.




at UT Tyler, Summers Tennis Center | Tyler, Texas

Quarterfinals | Thursday, May 4

Match 1: East Texas Baptist (#2 East ) vs. Hardin-Simmons (#3 West), 9:00 a.m.

Match 2: UT Dallas (#1 West) vs. Ozarks (#4 East), 11:30 a.m.

Match 3: Mary Hardin-Baylor (#2 West) vs. LeTourneau (#3 East), 2:00 p.m.

Match 4: UT Tyler (#1 East) vs. Concordia Texas (#4 West), 4:30 p.m

Semifinals | Friday, May 5

Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 10:30 a.m.

Match 6: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 2:00 p.m.

Championship Final | Saturday, May 6

Match 7: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 11:00 a.m.