CHAMPS: @patriotstennis wins 3rd straight #ASCtennis title

Saturday, April 30, 2016
by Wes Bloomquist ||

RICHARDSON – The UT Tyler men’s tennis team has earned the eighth American Southwest Conference Championship in program history and the third straight after taking a 5-1 finals win over Texas Dallas on Saturday at the UTD Tennis Courts.

The Patriots (17-9), who have won eight of the last nine ASC titles, ran through the tournament with a quarterfinals win over UMHB on Thursday and then knocked out Hardin-Simmons on Friday in the semifinals. The eight conference championships is the most in history, breaking a tie with HSU which has seven titles.

“They came out with a good sense of urgency today with No. 3 doubles really set the tone,” UT Tyler coach Chris Bizot said. “I'm proud of the fact that they stuck together through some very tough match situations though out the season.”

UT Tyler freshman Arthur Fagundes was named the ASC Championship MVP on Saturday after helping lead the Patriots to the team championship. Fagundes and Frankie Fischer made quick work of their first doubles match with an 8-1 win, while Daniel Budd and Jose McIntyre were 8-6 second doubles winners and Pablo Gomez and Joey Fischer swept through for an 8-0 third doubles win. The Patriots led 3-0 after doubles play for the third straight dual match and set it up for singles to close it.

Ryan Elwood would take a 6-2, 6-2 sixth singles win to give the Patriots at 4-0 lead before Joey Fischer ended the championship with a 6-0, 6-2 fourth singles win over UTD’s Ryan Morton. Fischer earned his 11th win of the season, while Elwood is 10-3 in singles action.

UT Tyler has earned the ASC automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Tennis Championships with the regional announcement to be made on Monday, May 9. The national tournament will be held at the Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan on May 23-25 with the individual championships scheduled for May 26-28.

“The guys are working hard and if we come together at the right time we feel we can accomplish special things,” Bizot said. “We are looking forward to competing in the NCAA tournament and rectifying some matches that got away from us in the regular season.”

Arthur Fagundes (MVP), Texas-Tyler
Daniel Budd, Texas-Tyler
Ryan Elwood, Texas-Tyler
Joey Fisher, Texas-Tyler
Mario Jelev, Texas Dallas
Ryan Morton, Texas Dallas
Frankie Sanchez, Hardin-Simmons
Tyler Tolopka, East Texas Baptist

Singles competition
1. Hrudhay Ravula (UTD) vs. Daniel Budd (UTT) 1-6, 2-5, unfinished
2. Christian Duarte (UTD) vs. Arthur Fagundes (UTT) 1-6, 1-5, unfinished
3. Alberto Hernandez (UTD) vs. Pablo Gomez (UTT) 6-4, unfinished
4. Joey Fischer (UTT) def. Ryan Morton (UTD) 6-0, 6-2
5. Mario Jelev (UTD) def. Jose McIntyre (UTT) 6-1, 6-0
6. Ryan Elwood (UTT) def. Kenneth Sweeney (UTD) 6-2, 6-2
Doubles competition
1. Arthur Fagundes/Frankie Fischer (UTT) def. Christian Duarte/Alberto Hernandez (UTD) 8-1
2. Daniel Budd/Jose McIntyre (UTT) def. Hrudhay Ravula/Mario Jelev (UTD) 8-6
3. Pablo Gomez/Joey Fischer (UTT) def. Ryan Morton/Kenneth Sweeney (UTD) 8-0