AWARDS: @Patriot_msoccer honored with ASC selections
UT Tyler senior Leandro Cid-Fernandez was named the ASC Midfielder of the Year for the third straight season.
UT Tyler senior Leandro Cid-Fernandez was named the ASC Midfielder of the Year for the third straight season.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

TYLER – UT Tyler senior Leandro Cid-Fernandez was named the American Southwest Conference’s Midfielder of the Year for the third straight season and the coaches selected John McGuffin as the ASC Goalkeeper of the Year to highlight Patriot honors on the all-conference teams that were posted on Tuesday.

UT Tyler had four first-team selections, including Ryan Brinda, Lucas Pereira, McGuffin and Cid-Fernandez, while Travis Collins was selected to the ASC second-team. The 2017 ASC Men’s Soccer awards and all-conference teams are voted on by the league’s head coaches. UT Tyler (11-3-3) earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III tournament and will play No. 2-ranked Trinity at 5 p.m. on Saturday in San Antonio in a first-round matchup with the winner to play at 5 p.m. on Sunday in the second round.

An Argentina native, Cid-Fernandez is the only player to ever earn three ASC Midfielder of the Year honors and is the UT Tyler all-time leader with 36 career goals. Cid-Fernandez has six goals and three assists so far this season, including a two-goal performance against UT Dallas in the regular season. Cid-Fernandez is the program’s all-time leader in points also with 14 assists to go along with his 36 goals for 86 total points. She has taken 102 shots on goal entering this weekend.

A senior from North Richland Hills, McGuffin is the first Patriot to earn ASC Goalkeeper of the Year honors after 10 shutouts in the regular season. McGuffin is a four-year player at UT Tyler and spent 4,845 minutes in goal for the Patriots in his career. During that time, he has made 167 saves with a .807 percentage. He has allowed only nine goals this season and has 42 saves entering Saturday’s game at Trinity.

Pereira is now a three-time All-ASC selection after recording a 10-goal junior season for the Patriots. Those 10 goals are the eighth most in a season for any player in UT Tyler history and he has also added four assists. A third-year player from Spain, Pereira enters the NCAA tournament with 22 goals and nine assists in his career. A junior from Coppell, Brinda also earns his third All-ASC selection after being a leader for the Patriot defense throughout his career. Collins, a sophomore from Wichita Falls, was named to the second team for his defensive work that along with Brinda has helped limit the opposition to only 53 shots on goal through 17 games this season. UT Tyler has 11 shutouts this season after its 1-0 ASC semifinal win over UTD last Saturday.

 2017 All-ASC Men’s Soccer Teams

Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year: Case Carnes, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Defensive Player of the Year: Caleb Vandergriff, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Midfielder of the Year: Leandro Cid-Fernandez, UT Tyler
Goalkeeper of the Year: John McGuffin, UT Tyler
Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year: Jesse Ardila, UT Dallas
Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year: Jordan Sczech, McMurry
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Gage Ott, UT Dallas
Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Javier Zaragoza, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Coach of the Year: Brad Bankhead, Mary Hardin-Baylor
First Team

Pos. Name Cl. University Hometown
D Steven Dang 2 Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Plano, Texas
D Luke Lopez Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Abilene, Texas
D Caleb Vandergriff 3 Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Georgetown, Texas
D Ryan Brinda 3 Jr. UT Tyler Coppell, Texas
D Mason Anderson So. UT Dallas Frisco, Texas
F Lucas Pereira 3 Jr. UT Tyler Barcelona, Spain
F Case Carnes 3 Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Tyler, Texas
F Alejandro Labastida 4 Sr. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas
F Alfredo Kaegi 2 So. UT Dallas Frisco, Texas
F Omar Aguirre Jr. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas
GK John McGuffin Sr. UT Tyler North Richland Hills, Texas
GK Bryce Eichhorn Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Aurora, Colo.
M Leandro Cid-Fernandez 3 Sr. UT Tyler Cordoba, Texas
M Caleb Almanza 2 Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Odessa, Texas
M Danny Meyer 4 Sr. UT Dallas Phoenix, Ariz.
M Martin Lopez So. Mary Hardin-Baylor Hutto, Texas
M Ronny Garza Jr. Concordia Texas Austin, Texas

Second Team

Pos. Name Cl. University Hometown
D Nash Cole 2 Jr. Concordia Texas Sugar Land, Texas
D Brad Rivenes So. UT Dallas Sugar Land, Texas
D Travis Collins So. UT Tyler Wichita Falls, Texas
D Josh Erwin Jr. McMurry Duncanville, Texas
F Rafael Lara Jr. McMurry Houston, Texas
F Tracer Moore 2 Sr. Howard Payne Houston, Texas
F Frane Vidosevic So. Hardin-Simmons Zagreb, Croatia
F Thomas Ross Jr. Ozarks Heath, Texas
GK Alex Chavez Sr. McMurry Galveston, Texas
M Daaron McFarling Sr. UT Dallas Fairview, Texas
M John Dunbar Jr. Belhaven Biggar, Scotland
M Daniel Lemus Sr. Howard Payne Salado, Texas
M Jesus Sanchez So. McMurry El Paso, Texas

Third Team

Pos. Name Cl. University Hometown
D Eric Bigon 2 Sr. Concordia Texas Belton, Texas
D Ben Matthews So. Hardin-Simmons Waco, Texas
D Travis Atkinson 2 So. East Texas Baptist Palestine, Texas
D Spence Jean Baptiste Fr. Ozarks Tabarre, Haiti
D Zak Bergstrom Sr. Concordia Texas Temple, Texas
F Alec Wier Jr. LeTourneau Cypress, Texas
F Edgar Sanchez Fr. LeTourneau Tyler, Texas
F Alvaro Riera Fr. Louisiana College Leon, Spain
F Francisco Silvestre Fr. Louisiana College Sao Paulo, Brazil
GK Chase Therrien Jr. UT Dallas Trophy Club, Texas
M Jordan Burke 2 Sr. East Texas Baptist League City, Texas
M Kasden Williams Jr. UT Dallas Buda, Texas
M Eduardo Barron So. LeTourneau Longview, Texas
M Preston Hillis Jr. Hardin-Simmons Irving, Texas
M Miguel Reyes Jr. Ozarks Canyon, Texas
M Matt Samaniego 2 Jr. Ozarks San Antonio, Texas

Honorable Mention

Pos. Name Cl. University Hometown
D Alejandro Molina Fr. Howard Payne Houston, Texas
D Bradley Rice Jr. Ozarks Fort Smith, Ark.
D Dylan Person Jr. Howard Payne Brownwood, Texas
D Mateus Holanda Jr. Belhaven Sao Paulo, Brazil
D Manny Torres Jr. Ozarks Keller, Texas
D Edward Solis Jr. LeTourneau Longview, Texas
GK Rob Oakley So. Concordia Texas Dallas, Texas
M Michael Westerman Jr. Howard Payne Brownwood, Texas
M Daniel Rutter Jr. East Texas Baptist League City, Texas
M Max Ponticorvo So. East Texas Baptist The Woodlands, Texas
M Abate Hennessy Jr. Hardin-Simmons Gatesville, Texas
M Danny Benyamin Sr. Hardin-Simmons Cedar Park, Texas
M Felix Hultin Fr. Louisiana College Forshaga, Sweden

Two-Time All-Conference 2
Three-Time All-Conference 3
Four-Time All-Conference 4