ASC POSTSEASON: @Patriot_msoccer to play Saturday
Texas Dallas (11-6-2)
Texas-Tyler (11-2-3)
11/4/2017 | Belton, Texas | Attendance: 105
Texas Dallas000
UTTM39:47Akon N'Guetta (Steven Soriano )
UTDJohn Nicknish90:0011
UTTMGiancarlo Ayanegui56:4903
UTTMJohn McGuffin33:1100
Stats at a GlanceUTDUTTM
Shots (on Goal)4 (3)7 (2)
Corner Kicks03

Friday, November 3, 2017

Championship Central | ASC Bracket | History
TYLER – The UT Tyler men's soccer team will play at 2 p.m. on Saturday in the American Southwest Conference Championship semifinals where they will play UT Dallas in Belton. The Patriots earned a 2-0 win over the Comets in the regular season with Leandro Cid-Fernandez scoring both goals off assists from Lucas Pereira on Sept. 14 in Tyler. Ozarks and Mary Hardin-Baylor will play the first ASC semifinal of the day at 11 a.m. on Saturday with the finals set for 1 p.m. on Sunday at the Cru Soccer Field. 
UMHB posted a 13-2 record in league play to win the regular season title and the right to host the 2017 American Southwest Conference Men’s Soccer Championship Tournament with the Patriots finishing second in the ASC with its lone loss coming to the Cru. The Patriots and Comets last met in the postseason in the 2015 ASC Championship finals with UTD taking home the title in a 6-5 penalty-kick advantage in a game play in Tyler. UT Tyler has recorded 10 shutouts this season, with senior goalkeeper John McGuffin making 37 saves for the Patriots who have outscored their opponents by a 30-8 margin.

Pereira leads the Patriots this season with 10 goals and four assists in his junior season and was a two-time ASC Offensive Player of the Week. He has scored six of those goals in the past five games, including recording a hat trick three weeks ago against East Texas Baptist. Cid-Fernandez has added six goals and three assists in his senior season and is the all-time leader in program history with 36 goals. Pereira has 22 career goals coming into the postseason. Jose Poo has added three goals, while Akon N’Guetta, Caio Godinho and Erik Macias have two goals each while Alfonso Ochoa, Chris Stamm, Giovanni Castillo, Mark Guevara and Steven Soriano all have one goal in the 2017 season.

The Patriots are making their 10th in appearance in 11 years. UTD is the two-time defending champions and will be in the tournament for the 17th time. HSU, who reached the finals last year, is making its ASC-record 19th appearance and 15th in a row. 

The 2017 ASC Men’s Championship Soccer Tournament is the 20th in league history. The winner of the ASC Championship Tournament is declared the conference champion and earns automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship.