AWARDS: Hill, Uhlig, Perkins earn PING All-America honors

Wednesday, June 20, 2018
by Wes Bloomquist |

TYLER – Sam Hill, Tyler Uhlig and Trystan Perkins have earned NCAA Division III PING All-America honors after strong seasons for the UT Tyler men’s golf team which finished third at the NCAA Championships and won the American Southwest Conference Championship.

UT Tyler now has three All-America selections in back-to-back seasons and for the third time, while the program has had two or more All-America selections in six seasons.

“I’m so proud of each of these guys and the season they had,” UT Tyler coach Michael McMunn said. “These three guys played in every round of golf for us this year. The positive impact these guys have had on our program is hard to put into words. I’m just lucky to get to say I’m their coach and watch them play a game we all love.”

A senior from Orlando, Hill earned PING First-Team All-America honors after finishing sixth at the NCAA Championship tournament in mid-May at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, North Carolina. Hill is now a two-time PING All-America in his UT Tyler career after also securing the honor as a junior. A finalist for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year honor, Hill has seven top-10 finishes in his senior season and posted a 72.04 scoring average which is the lowest in UT Tyler program history and was ranked second in the nation this season. He finished his collegiate career by shooting 74-70-70-74 – 288 (even-par) for sixth at the NCAA tournament.

“Sam had statistically the best season in program history and has been very consistent all four years I have coached him,” said McMunn, who coached Hill at Piedmont College for two years before both came to UT Tyler last year. “I’m going to miss having him around. He has all these accomplishments but most importantly he has been a great teammate and mentor to his teammates.”

Uhlig was selected as a PING Second-Team All-America after junior season where he won two tournaments and also a runner-up finish. A Magnolia native, Uhlig transferred to UT Tyler this season after starting his collegiate career with two years at McLennan College. Uhlig shined in his first season with the Patriots, winning the Linda Lowery Invitational by shooting 67-72 – 218 in February before winning the ASC Championship with a 68-71-70 – 209 at Avery Ranch in Austin on the first day of May. Uhlig set a program record with 74 birdies in the season and matched Hill with 15 rounds of par or better which is the new UT Tyler single-season record.

“Tyler had one of the best statistical seasons in program history,” McMunn said. “He won two times this year including ASC individual championship. I’m proud of Tyler and the season he had.”

Perkins surged in the final three tournaments of his sophomore season to earn PING Honorable Mention All-America honors for the Patriots. Perkins finished 12th at the NCAA tournament by shooting 72-79-77-73 – 291 after taking seventh at the ASC Championship with a 54-hole total of 74-73-74 – 221 to help lead UT Tyler to the conference title. He completed the year with a 74.85 scoring average in nine tournaments with five top-20 finishes in his second year with the Patriots. Perkins was at 3-over in the 72-hole NCAA Championship which is the fourth best four-round tournament showing by any player in program history.

“Trystan was very consistent for us all year and in my opinion played his two best tournaments at the ASC championship and NCAA championship,” McMunn said. “I’m proud of him and his improvements he progressively made throughout the season.”

Division III PING All-America Teams

 First Team
Josh Gibson, Hope
Sam Hill, UT Tyler
Ryan Isaacson, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Ryan Muthiora, Kenyon
Conner O’Neil, Illinois Wesleyan
Cade Osgood, Southwestern
Brian Peccie, Washington & Lee 
Logan Young, Concordia 

Second Team
Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe
Mark Connelly, Huntingdon
Larkin Gross, Methodist
James Mishoe, Guilford
Matt Organisak, Emory
Stephen Shephard, Huntingdon
Tyler Uhlig, UT Tyler
Ben VanScoyk, Calvin 

Third Team
Jared Chin, Methodist
Chris Drysdale, Methodist
Emmet Herb, St. Thomas (MN)
Josh Hill, Guilford
Ryan McGinley, Concordia
Jonathan Shaw, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Austin Wells, Otterbein
Rob Wuethrich, Illinois Wesleyan

Honorable Mention
Sabastien Bonte, Mary Washington
Chris Bornhorst, Babson
Noah Bragg, Bethel (MN)
Scott Campbell, Greensboro
Conner Davis, La Verne
Eric Dugas, Husson
Zachary Evans, Guilford
Levi Grogan, Greensboro
Daniel Harcourt, Gettysburg
Ben Johnson, Illinois Wesleyan
Lance Keiser, Ferrum
Michael Lange, Rosemont
Colin Laszlo, Wittenberg
Ryan Mallette, Wittenberg
Matt Meneghetti, Carthage
Benjamin Mitchell, Franklin & Marshall
Tommy Oliver, Sewanee
Sam Olson, Saint John’s (MN)
Jason Paek, Rochester
Trystan Perkins, UT Tyler
Sean Puleo, Washington & Lee
Will Rosenfield, Trinity (CT)
Daniel Settecerri, Hope
Dan Shepherd, Methodist
Jon Colten Stanaland, Huntingdon
Colin Uecker, Texas Lutheran
Alex Wrenn, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Connor Yakubov, Emory