Porche earns ABCA/Diamond West Region Coach of the Year

Monday, July 2, 2018
by Wes Bloomquist | wbloomquist@uttyler.edu

TYLER – Brent Porche has been named the ABCA/Diamond NCAA Division III West Region Coach of the Year after leading UT Tyler to the NCAA DIII National Championship this season.

In only his second year with the Patriots, Porche led the team to a 40-18 record that was capped in Appleton, Wisconsin with the program’s first national championship. UT Tyler went 11-2 in its NCAA postseason run that included winning the NCAA Central Regional in Sauget, Illinois where they won five straight elimination games and ended with a sweep of Texas Lutheran in the NCAA Championship finals. Going into the postseason unranked, Porche and the Patriots topped seven ranked opponents including No. 1 Wisconsin-Whitewater, No. 5 Randolph-Macon and No. 6 TLU en route to the national title.

“Great players who buy in and work hard make awards like Coach of the Year happen,” Porche said. “I’m extremely honored with so many great coaches out there in the best region in the country to be named the West Region Coach of the Year.  This award may have my name on it, but it takes an entire family effort for things like this to happen.  What an amazing year 2018 has been for the Patriots and I’m looking forward to many years being a part of this great place and this Patriot Family.” 

Porche owns a 226-110 career record as a head coach, including going 147-83 at LSU Alexandria before coming to Tyler last season. He would lead UT Tyler to a 39-9 record in his first season before guiding the Patriots to their first-ever 40-win season in program history in 2018. Porche is the first coach in UT Tyler baseball history to earn regional coach of the year honors.

The Coaches of the Year will be honored on Friday, Jan. 4 on the main stage of the clinic hall prior to the start of clinics at the 75th annual ABCA Convention, which will be held Jan. 3-6, 2019 in Dallas.

“There are so many to thank that made this possible,” Porche said. “Thank the good Lord for putting me a this position to have an effect on the lives of these young men, thank my wife and kids for being so bought into what we are doing here and allowing me to do the things we need to do to make this program a success, thank my parents, grandparents aunts and uncles for the endless support and encouragement they provided over the years to help me get to this point in my career, thank you to Coach Grafton and the rest of our coaching staff for all the countless hours of recruiting, practices, weights, and all the work they put in behind the scenes, thank you to Dr. Patterson for giving me the opportunity to lead this program, thank you to all the staff, Andrew Cage and the Sports Medicine staff, Wes Bloomquist our Sports Information Coordinator, all of the game day staff, and everyone else at the University that make this possible, thank you to the alumni and former coaches for laying the foundation for this program.”

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its nearly 10,000 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, the association’s annual awards program has grown to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Division I, II, III, Pacific Association Division and High School.

2018 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Northeast Mike Glavine Northeastern MA
East Mark Scalf UNC Wilmington NC
Atlantic Mike Fox North Carolina NC
South Gary Henderson Mississippi State MS
Central Bobby Barbier Northwestern State LA
Mideast John Anderson Minnesota MN
Midwest Tim Tadlock Texas Tech TX
West Pat Casey Oregon State OR
2018 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
East Scott Loiseau Southern New Hampshire NH
Atlantic Joe Spano Mercyhurst PA
Southeast Greg Appleton Columbus State GA
South Lance Niekro Florida Southern FL
Midwest Tracy Archuleta Southern Indiana IN
Central Tim Huber Augustana SD
South Central Jason Gonzales Texas A&M-Kingsville TX
West Eric Newman California San Diego CA
2018 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
New England Brendan Eygabroat UMass Boston MA
New York Scott Landers Oswego State NY
Mid-Atlantic Matt Midkiff Swarthmore PA
South Ray Hedrick Randolph-Macon VA
Mideast Tim Pettorini Wooster OH
Central Alan Betourne Monmouth IL
Midwest Mike Stawski Concordia-Chicago IL
West Brent Porche Texas-Tyler TX
2018 ABCA/Diamond NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Opening Rd. Bill Popp Reinhardt GA
Opening Rd. Jorge Perez St. Thomas FL
Opening Rd. Adrian Dinkel Southeastern FL
Opening Rd. Brad Stromdahl Georgia Gwinnett GA
Opening Rd. Jacob Garsez Antelope Valley CA
Opening Rd. Patrick McCarthy Faulkner AL
Opening Rd. Denney Crabaugh Oklahoma City OK
Opening Rd. Jonathan Estes Freed-Hardeman TN
Opening Rd. Kory Hartman Northwestern Ohio OH
2018 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Central Brent Biggs Barton KS
East Central David Shelton Walters State TN
Eastern Luis Melendez Monroe NY
Gulf Jeff Johnson Chipola FL
Northern Marc Rardin Iowa Western IA
South Central Pat Evers Jefferson MO
Southeastern Adam Thomas Chattahoochee Valley AL
Southern Tom Arrington San Jacinto TX
Southwestern Craig McMurtry Temple TX
Western Boomer Walker Southern Idaho ID
2018 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
East David Brust Monroe NY
Midwest David Garcia Parkland IL
North Steve Dintaman Sinclair OH
North Central Mike Davenport Madison WI
North Plains Todd Rima Kirkwood IA
Northeast Michael Carter CCBC Essex MD
Plains Raydon Leaton Northern Oklahoma-Enid OK
South Jeff Willis LSU Eunice LA
Southeast Robbie Allen Brunswick NC
Southwest Alex Cherney Scottsdale AZ
2018 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
A Jason Rathbun Herkimer NY
B Bill Fratto Oakton IL
C Doug Wren Tyler TX
D Reece Honeycutt Rockingham NC
E Jason Fischer St. Cloud Tech MN
F Jeff Mejia Northern Essex MA
G Adrian Yaguez Northampton PA
2018 ABCA/Diamond Pacific Association Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
No. California Reed Peters San Joaquin Delta CA
So. California John Altobelli Orange Coast CA
Northwest Eric Lane Lower Columbia WA
2018 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 William Chapman Bedford NH
2 Nick Hoffner Howard MD
3 Matt Cimo Auburn AL
4 Ty Brenning Olentangy Liberty OH
5 Paul Twenge Minnetonka MN
6 Ron Bradley Har-Ber AR
7 Joe Sato Bingham UT
8 Joe Hallead Palo Verde NV
2018 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 Norman Walsh Boston College MA
2 Kevin Kirkby Pascack Hills NJ
3 Jeff Segars Loganville GA
4 Greg Elie & Mike Kinney Baylor School TN
5 Scott Holler Oak Creek WI
6 Kyle Slayton Nashville AR
7 Gerard Pineda La Cueva NM
8 John Diatte Valley Christian CA
2018 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 Kevin Graber Phillips Academy MA
2 Ryan Terrill Riverdale Baptist MD
3 Donald Cribb Latta SC
4 Dave Pishkur Andrean IN
5 Steve Bushnell Topeka Seaman KS
6 Hart Hering Brock TX
7 Danny Ipson Dixie UT
8 Mark Ratekin Bakersfield Christian CA