TOURNAMENT BOUND: @UTTylerBaseball earns at-large bid to NCAA postseason

Monday, May 14, 2018

TYLER – The UT Tyler baseball team has earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship tournament where they will travel to play in the Sauget, Illinois Regional. 

The Patriots (29-16) will open the tournament at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday against Auroa University in the third game of the regional that is being played at GCS Credit Union Ballpark. UT Tyler and Auroa will be joined by Webster (36-8), Wisconsin-Whitewater (31-6), Rhodes (29-14), Franklin (38-3), Monmouth (28-12-1) and Thomas Moore (28-14) in the eight-team regional. The Patriots are the third seed in the tournament and will be playing the Spartans for the first time in program history. Aurora (Illinois) is 30-13 on the season and won the Northern Athletics Collegiate tournament title to earn an automatic bid to the tournament.  

UT Tyler is making its fourth straight trip to the NCAA tournament and eighth overall appearance. This is the second time that the Patriots earned an at-large bid to the tournament and the first that the team is playing in the Central region. In the West Regional, the American Southwest Conference is represented by UT Dallas and Concordia. UT Tyler is the only at-large team in the Central Regional and will be seeking the program's first trip to the NCAA DIII Championship. 

Central Regional Tournament Schedule
10:00 AM - Game 1 - #4 Rhodes (29-14) vs. #5 Franklin (38-3) - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
1:15 PM - Game 2 - #1 Webster (36-8) vs. #8 Thomas More (24-18) - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
4:30 PM - Game 3 - #3 UT Tyler (29-16) vs. Aurora (Ill.) (30-13) - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
7:45 PM - Game 4 - #2 Wis.-Whitewater (31-6) vs. #7 Monmouth (Ill.) (28-12-2) - Live Stats | Video/Audio


10:00 AM - Game 5 - Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
1:15 PM - Game 6 - Loser of Game 3 vs. Loser of Game 4 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
4:30 PM - Game 7 - Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 - Live Stats | Video/Audio
8 PM - Game 8 - Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 

10:00 AM - Game 9 - Winner of Game 6 vs. Loser of Game 7 - Live Stats | Video/Audio
1:15 PM - Game 10 - Winner of Game 5 vs. Loser of Game 8 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
4:30 PM - Game 11 - Winner of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 8 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 
7:45 PM - Game 12 - Winner of Game 9 vs. Winner of Game 10 - Live Stats | Video/Audio

12 PM - Game 13 - Winner of Game 12 vs. Loser of Game 11 - Live Stats | Video/Audio
3:30 PM - Game 14 - Winner of Game 11 vs. Winner of Game 13 - Live Stats | Video/Audio 

TBD - Game 15 (If Necessary) - Winner of Game 14 vs. Loser of Game 14 - Live Stats | Video/Audio

The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee announced the 58 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty conference champions qualified automatically.

RELATED: View the interactive bracket 

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the pool play double-elimination championship at Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, Friday- Tuesday/Wednesday, May 25- 29/30, 2018.

Thursday – Sunday/Monday, May 17-20/21

Adrian, Michigan Region Hosted by Adrian College

  1. Wooster

  2. Otterbein

  3. La Roche

  4. Marietta

  5. Shenandoah

  6. Ithaca

  7. Adrian

  8. Wabash

Auburn, New York Region Hosted by State University of New York at Cortland

  1. SUNY Cortland

  2. Salisbury

  3. Southern Maine

  4. Baldwin Wallace

  5. Swarthmore

  6. Amherst

  7. St. Joseph’s (Long Island)

  8. Westfield State

Duluth, Minnesota Region Hosted by The College of St. Scholastica

  1. Concordia Chicago

  2. North Central (Illinois)

  3. Wisconsin-Oshkosh

  4. Bethel (Minnesota)

  5. Dubuque

  6. Bethany Lutheran

Harwich, Massachusetts Region Hosted by Massachusetts Maritime Academy

  1. Massachusetts Boston

  2. Oswego State

  3. Keystone

  4. Western New England

  5. Ramapo

  6. Mitchell

  7. Suffolk

  8. Penn State-Berks

Holly Springs, North Carolina Region Hosted by William Peace University

  1. Randolph-Macon

  2. The College of New Jersey

  3. Denison

  4. Christopher Newport

  5. Alvernia

  6. LaGrange

Sauget, Illinois Region Hosted by St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

  1. Webster

  2. Wisconsin-Whitewater

  3. Texas-Tyler

  4. Rhodes

  5. Franklin

  6. Aurora

  1. Monmouth (Illinois)

  2. Thomas More

Spokane, Washington Region Hosted by Whitworth University and Spokane Sports Commission

  1. Chapman

  2. Redlands

  3. Concordia University Texas

  4. Texas Lutheran

  5. Texas-Dallas

  6. Willamette

York, Pennsylvania Region Hosted by Middle Atlantic Conferences

  1. Rowan

  2. Babson

  3. Arcadia

  4. Virginia Wesleyan

  5. Misericordia

  6. Union

  7. Catholic

  8. Castleton

Teams at the final site will be seeded to determine first-round matchups.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference La Roche
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury
Centennial Conference Swarthmore
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin North Central (Illinois)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone College
Commonwealth Coast Conference Western New England
Empire 8 Conference Ithaca
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Suffolk
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Franklin
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Dubuque
Landmark Conference Catholic
Liberty League Union (New York)
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Westfield State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Adrian
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Arcadia
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Misercordia
Midwest Conference Monmouth (Illinois)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Bethel (Minnesota)
New England Collegiate Conference Mitchell
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Babson
New Jersey Athletic Conference Rowan
North Atlantic Conference Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference Wabash
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State-Berks
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Willamette
Ohio Athletic Conference Baldwin Wallace
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Shenandoah
President's Athletic Conference Thomas More
Skyline Conference St. Joseph's (Long Island)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Southern Athletic Association Rhodes
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Chapman
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran
State University of New York Athletic Conference Oswego State
USA South Athletic Conference LaGrange
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Bethany Lutheran College
Christopher Newport
Concordia Chicago
Concordia University Texas
Southern Maine
SUNY Cortland
The College of New Jersey
Virginia Wesleyan

In the 2017 Division III championship series, Cal Lutheran rallied for two wins over Washington and Jefferson, winning game three 7-2 to capture the first NCAA Division III baseball title in school history.