ABCA honors four @UTTylerBaseball players with all-region awards

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

TYLER – UT Tyler senior Daniel Williams was named the ABCA/Rawlings All-West Region first-team designated hitter, while pitcher Cody Brown earned second-team honors and Trenton Buchhorn and Reese Read third-team distinction for their work this season for the Patriots.

The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America Committee. UT Tyler matched a single-season record with 39 wins this season and won the American Southwest Conference regular-season and tournament championships.

A senior from Katy, Williams put together one of the best offensive seasons in program history with 13 doubles, eight home runs 58 singles and 53 RBI as the team’s designated hitter. Williams hit .395 in 200 at-bats and had 23 multi-hit games and 13 multi-RBI performances. He played two seasons for the Patriots after transferring in as a junior and finished his two-year career with 11 home runs, 72 RBI and 26 doubles. Williams was also named to the ASC first-team.

A senior from Fulshear, Brown would baffle hitters throughout a year where he earned four ASC Pitcher of the Week honors and had a 10-3 record. Brown was a win away from matching the program’s single-season record for wins and completed the year with 90 strikeouts and a 2.79 ERA in 84 innings or work. He led the ASC in strikeouts and is 21st in the nation. Brown, who threw five complete games and two shutouts, transferred in as a senior after two seasons at TJC and one at Sam Houston and had the fifth most strikeouts in a season in program history.

Buchhorn earned second-team honors after putting together another great season for the Patriots where he had 11 doubles, two triples, five home runs and 36 RBI. A senior from Arlington, Buchhorn missed 12 games due to injury in the middle of the ASC schedule but would come back to continue producing at a high level for his team. Buchhorn, who was second in the conference with his batting average, earned ASC first-team honors and with 54 hits in 132 at-bats. He transferred in as a junior and finished his two-year career at UT Tyler with 118 hits and 96 RBI. His nine career triples are the fourth most in program history. Read was also in his second season with the Patriots and led the team with eight saves to go along with a 4-1 record. A senior from Bridgeport, he transferred from TJC and would post a 2.00 ERA and 29 strikeouts in 24 appearances.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans will be announced on the evening of Thursday, May 25. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team will be announced on Wednesday, June 21.

2017 West-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. III West All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Chris Zapata Jr. Centenary LA
1B Conner Combs Sr. East Texas Baptist TX
1B Barry Casey Jr. UT Dallas TX
2B Tanner Nishioka Sr. Pomona-Pitzer CA
3B Tyler Cook Sr. Chapman CA
SS Ben Welch Sr. Pacific Lutheran WA
OF Josh Covey Jr. UT Dallas TX
OF Zach Gartner So. East Texas Baptist TX
OF Scott Hilpert Sr. Linfield OR
DH Daniel Williams Sr. Texas-Tyler TX
UT Jakob Thomas Jr. La Verne CA
P Felix Minjarez Jr. Redlands CA
P Jamie Andriot Jr. UT Dallas TX
P Cason Cunningham So. Linfield OR
RP Aaron Barteau Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor TX
NCAA Div. III West All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Rainier Aguilar Jr. Redlands CA
1B Jared Love Jr. Chapman CA
2B Landon Packard Sr. Pacific Lutheran WA
3B Ben Andrews Sr. Linfield OR
SS Zach Compton Sr. East Texas Baptist TX
SS Aaron Quintanilla Sr. Centenary LA
OF Michael Schimpf Sr. Centenary LA
OF Ben Little Sr. Southwestern TX
OF Joseph Zimmer Jr. Whitman WA
OF Luke Richter Fr. UT Dallas TX
DH Scott Walters Sr. Trinity TX
UT Ryan Pladson Sr. Linfield OR
P Riley Newman Sr. Linfield OR
P Marshall Pautsch Sr. Cal Lutheran CA
P Kaleb Kirk Jr. Centenary TX
P Cody Brown Sr. Texas-Tyler TX
RP Chris Tate Sr. Trinity TX
NCAA Div. III West All-Region Third Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Trey Saito Sr. Cal Lutheran CA
1B Colton Parker Sr. Hardin-Simmons TX
2B Gavin Blodgett Jr. Chapman CA
2B Ryan Burciaga So. UT Dallas TX
3B Connor Scruggs Jr. UT Dallas TX
SS Aaron Singh So. Redlands CA
OF Gabe Gunter Sr. Cal Lutheran CA
OF Bryce Rogan Jr. Pomona-Pitzer CA
OF Trenton Buchhorn Sr. Texas-Tyler TX
DH Cody Crowder Fr. Centenary LA
UT Cole Lavergne Jr. Centenary TX
UT Chris Peres So. La Verne CA
P Ruben Renteria Jr. UT Dallas TX
P Matt Devillier So. Centenary LA
P Spencer Backstrom Sr. Pacific OR
P Nate Wehner Jr. Cal Lutheran CA
RP Reese Read Sr. Texas-Tyler TX
RP Miguel Salud Jr. Cal Lutheran CA
West Position Player of the Year: Tanner Nishioka, Sr., 2B, Pomona-Pitzer
West Pitcher of the Year: Felix Minjarez, Jr., Redlands

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Paul Hesse of the University of Mt. Union. Also on the committee are Matt LaBranche (Eastern Connecticut State), Cory Paluga (Elmira College), Dean Glus (The College of New Jersey), Ray Hedrick (Randolph-Macon College), Luke Johnson (North Park University), Jerry Haugen (St. John's University, MN) and Scott Winterburn (University of La Verne).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 74th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 4-7, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

About Rawlings

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings' unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.