@uttylerbaseball advances to ASC Championship Gold series
Play Video
#4 Texas-Tyler (27-16)
#8 Texas Dallas (24-19)
5/8/2016 | Austin, Texas | Attendance: 325
Texas Dallas01003311X9101
Win: Hanson (2-1) 4.162200
Loss: Jacob Clark (0-2) 1.012232
Daniel Williams (UTT) 423211
Marti (UTD) 523301

Sunday, May 8, 2016
by Wes Bloomquist | wbloomquist@uttyler.edu

AUSTIN – The UT Tyler Patriots advanced to the American Southwest Conference Championship Gold Bracket series after earning a 7-2 win over Texas Dallas in the second of two games on Sunday at Tornado Field to clinch the ASC Blue Bracket title.

The Patriots (28-17) will play at Hardin-Simmons next weekend in a best-of-three series against the Cowboys in Abilene. HSU advanced out of the ASC Red Bracket by knocking off East Texas Baptist on Sunday in Marshall. The Patriots and Cowboys will start their series with a 6 p.m. game on Friday followed by a 2 p.m. game on Saturday. A if-needed game would follow on Saturday to determine the conference champion and the automatic bid to the NCAA Division III tournament. 

“We are excited about this,” UT Tyler head coach Chris Bertrand said. “We struggled throughout the middle of the season and I’m proud of our guys because we’ve overcome adversity and learned from our struggles. We’ve used them to put together the best three weeks of baseball we’ve played all season. Every challenge I’ve laid before them, they’ve answered the bell. I really think we are starting to hit our stride.”

Max Page (2-2) led the Patriots to the win after striking out four and scattering eight hits in eight innings. Page, a freshman left-hander, made his second start and 11th appearance his best of the season by limiting the Comets to two runs in a 117-pitch effort.

“I’ve been struggling with my control all year so that was a big thing I needed to do better with today,” Page said. “I was just trying to pound the zone and make them make contact. Our fielders made the plays behind me. It’s an awesome feeling to have a performance like that with the run support the guys gave me. They gave me the confidence.”

While Page was dealing, the Patriots pounded out 12 hits and jumped out to a 4-1 lead with four runs in the third inning to respond to a loss in the first game of the day. Sam Lane and Daniel Williams each went 3-for-5 in the game, while Blake Wilson and Alex Bishop each had two hits. Trenton Buchhorn, who had two triples in the first game, would drive in two runs in the third inning with a double to left-center field and was followed by Williams driving in a run of his own with a double. Williams went 6-for-8 on Sunday and was named to the all-tournament team with Wilson, Reese Read, Michael Blevins and Page. Read closed out the game with a perfect ninth inning, while Wilson was named the tournament MVP after having four hits on Sunday.

The Texas Dallas Comets forced a second and decisive American Southwest Conference Blue Bracket Championship game after taking a 9-7 win in Sunday's first game at Tornado Field.The Patriots (27-16) led 5-1 before the Comets rallied for three runs in the fifth and three in the sixth to extend their season and the tournament.

Daniel Williams led the Patriots in the first game by going 3-for-4 with a home run and two RBI, while Trenton Buchhorn had two triples that drove in runs including the game’s first run. Blake Wilson and Braxton Hollenshead had two hits each and Josh Burns drove in two runs with a two-run double to the left-center field gap.

Jacob Clark (0-2) took the loss for the Patriots after being the third pitcher of the game and allowing two runs on one hit and three walks. Nate Imig did not factor into the decision after going 2 2/3 innings and leaving with the game tied and with an apparent injury. Tyler Stallings would throw  1 2/3 innings with two strikeouts, but also allowed three runs on two hits including a two-run home run to make it 5-4.

All-Tournament Team
Blake Wilson, UT Tyler (MVP)
Reese Read, UT Tyler
Michael Blevins, UT Tyler
Daniel Williams, UT Tyler
Max Page, UT Tyler
Nick Marti, UT Dallas
Haden Johnson, UT Dallas
Brandon Lee, UT Dallas
Zach Bomer, UT Dallas
Lane Hobbs, Concordia Texas
Michael Evan, Concordia Texas
Taylor Empkey, LeTourneau