#uttylerbb Sweeps Saturday-DH, Clinches Postseason Spot

Saturday, May 3, 2014
by Jeff Williford

CLINTON, Miss. -- The UT Tyler baseball team swept a Saturday doubleheader with rival Mississippi College, 14-1, 8-7, clinching a spot in the 2014 American Southwest Conference Baseball postseason.  The Patriot finish the regular season with a 17-23 overall record.

In the opener, the Patriots blasted 17 hits en route to 14 runs, dominating the Choctaws from the start, and winning 14-1.

After Mississippi College took a 1-0 lead in the first, the Patriots offense exploded over the last three innings, scoring 14 runs.

Senior Billy Lirely finished the game on a tear, going 4-for-5 with four RBI, while Spencer Barton went 3-for-5 with four RBI of his own.

Patriots starter Jake Beam was stellar, going the full seven innings, allowing just six hits and one earned run.

Game two was a back-and-forth affair, with the Patriots eventually hanging on to win 8-7 over the Choctaws.

Mississippi College once again took a 1-0 lead after one, as Casto knocked in a run with a double.

UT Tyler would score the next six runs of the contest, scoring at least one in the next five innings.

Sam Lane knocked in the first run of the game for the Patriots on a single, and added another RBI in the fourth on a triple.

Garrett Nelson and Dillon Berry each added a RBI with sac-flys in the third and fifth, while Buddy McCoy added another on a double.

Trailing 6-1, the Choctaws would cut the lead to 6-5 in the sixth, highlighted by a two-run single by Ryan Jernigan.

Berry delivered two important insurance runs in the seventh, scoring a pair of runs to give the Patriots the 8-5 lead.

In the ninth, MC cut the lead to 8-7, but UT Tyler's Josh Holley held on, picking up the save.

With the win, the Patriots clinched a spot in the ASC postseason, winning a tie-breaker with Hardin-Simmons, who the Patriots beat 2-out-of-3 games earlier this season.

The top eight seeds will play at Concordia University, May 7-10 at Tornado Field in a double-elimination tournament.